Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. I was not using instant oats. The oatmeal ended up so broken up that it was gross to eat, so we didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I took others advice, and used much more liquid. I used 2 cups old fash oats, 4 cups water, 3 cups milk, a little salt, 3 tbsp of butter, set on low for 8 hrs. Although there was no waste, I found it to be a little mushy so I then stirred in 3/4 cup quick oats and let sit for about 20 min. It really gave it the texture that I was looking for... I left out the br sugar. When I served it, I topped the bowl with cinn, sugar, dried cranberries, a touch more butter and walnuts ~ YUM! Can't wait to serve it for Christmas am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good recipe. I also used a small slow-cooker and it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this and added the extra cup of water as the one reviewer said and it was terrible. Too over cooked and too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Family loved it . followed advise from reviews - used smaller crock pot so that it was full. 3:1 ratio (4 cups water, 2 Cups milk & 2 cups oats), sprayed pot and added about 2 TBSP butter, 2 small apples chooped, apple pie spice, cinnamon & brown sugar to pot. Cooked on warm for almost 10 hours. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayashiangel
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used steel cut oats and cooked for 3 hours. Nice and creamy...Will be making this recipe again with extras like apples and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was GREAT!! I have busy mornings with soccer on Saturdays so this was great! I put in steel cut oats (1c) and multi grain oats (1c) and old fashioned oats (1/2 c). with 8 cups of water. I also added 2 or 3 diced apples and cinnamon. I added 2 tbs of butter and I also sprayed the crockpot with Pam....no problems sticking at all. I will definatley make this again! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe but everything stuck so much that I didn't think it was worth it... It tasted fine, but was a hassle to clean up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My oatmeal turned out AWESOME! I do have to point out that the recipe really works best with steel cut oats and a crock pot that has a "warm" setting. Even low is too hot and causes the crusted on mess. I also advise using a crock pot liner, I always use on whenever I fire up the slow cooker, I hate scrubbing it! I omitted the salt, and used skim milk and added brown sugar/fruit/add ins after it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States