Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too over-cooked. A mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
So easy. Nothing better than waking up to already made creamy oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debb
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved this! It burned a little bit despite using cooking spray, may have cooked it too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonP1382

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I've made this a few times, and have found that 1cup of steel cut oats, 2cups of water and 2 cups of milk and 1tablespoon of butter makes a wonderful, creamy oatmeal. Then just add whatever you want in the morning. Hope this helps! It is a very good recipe and it is very worth having breakfast all ready when you wake up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and a few tablespoons of butter to keep it from sticking. It did still stick on the bottom but most of it was ok. Maybe if it was cooked for a shorter period of time that would have helped. It was still a nice treat to wake up to in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Mine turned out beautifully. Instead of 1/2 and 1/2, I used low fat milk (for less fat) and some flavored kefir for more flavor and added creaminess. My picky boys ate big bowls--the first time ever w/o prodding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was fantastic and so easy! I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the water to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. I was not using instant oats. The oatmeal ended up so broken up that it was gross to eat, so we didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I took others advice, and used much more liquid. I used 2 cups old fash oats, 4 cups water, 3 cups milk, a little salt, 3 tbsp of butter, set on low for 8 hrs. Although there was no waste, I found it to be a little mushy so I then stirred in 3/4 cup quick oats and let sit for about 20 min. It really gave it the texture that I was looking for... I left out the br sugar. When I served it, I topped the bowl with cinn, sugar, dried cranberries, a touch more butter and walnuts ~ YUM! Can't wait to serve it for Christmas am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States