Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I like this recipe and it is the only way I will eat plain oatmeal. I think it works better if you double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Family Loved the recipe! I made it a few survings more then stated and filled the slow cooker. Variation: (1)I added cinnamon and chopped apples (2) Didn't add the half and half, just milk to taste. My son (1.5 yrs) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Four stars because it's an interesting use of the crock pot! I don't know if it's a factor of my crock pot's temperature or the kind of oatmeal I used (old-fashioned, not quick or instant) but we had none of the problems described by other reviewers. This recipe made enough for 3 people to eat for breakfast. We left out the half and half. It was very smooshy, almost lost its chewiness, which seems to have been traded in for the "creaminess" (so it loses a star). My daughter loved it, with enough sugar and maple syrup. I would make and eat this again, because it's nice to wake up to hot cereal (the slow cooker factor!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was pretty good oatmeal. I set it on high for 3 hrs, it had a crust on the top but once I stirred it around it softened. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I used fat free half & half and that could be partly the reason that my oatmeal had little flavor and a soggy texture, like it wasn't really cooked. I put my slow cooker on warm all night as suggested. I'm going to try this again on the low setting next time just because the oatmeal was expensive and hard to find. I don't want to waste it. I am really disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's my secret to this recipe: Use a small dip size crockpot (about one quart), and keep on "warm" setting overnight - I was lucky enough to find a crockpot that small with that setting - it works just great; no sticky, overcooked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Awful, awful, awful. My kids love oatmeal, so I was very excited when I found this recipe. Anything to make hectic morning less hectic, right? I was very disappointed this morning when I lifted the lid of my slow cooker, only to find half of the oatmeal crusted onto the sides & bottom, and the other half a soupy mess. My son looked in and said, "Mommy, where are the oats?" I'll stick to making oatmeal the regular way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
you're right when you say this is the way oatmeal is suppose to be! I love it! I even love the sticky parts. My moms always used to stick to her pots when she made oatmeal and it was my favorite part! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I boiled the water added the dry steel cut oats and covered with lid.Wait 4 minutes then I turned off the stove and went to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready to be quickly heated (add the cream and sugar at that time) this is easy for those who don't have a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I probably did this wrong though I followed the recipe exactly, because I ended up with a load of crusty...stuff stuck to the side of my slow cooker and mass of gelatinous goop under it all. I may try it again, but not for eight hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States