Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I really wanted this to work but didn't have great success. The recipe doesn't specify the type of oatmeal and I think that is the problem. I used quick cooking, put it in my small (dip sized crock)on warm for about 7 hours. I used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added a couple of tablespoons of butter. (I found that combination in a similar recipe from a slow cooker cooking site) Mine didn't stick to the crock but the texture was way too mushy for our tastes (tapioca like). I might try it again using regular oatmeal to see if I had better luck. It would be great to wake up on a school morning to a hot breakfast ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I don't usually make my oatmeal with milk (milk products). In the morning I had a sloshy-sour mess. I almost tossed the pot, what didn't cook burnt to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this last night. After reading all the reviews, I added 2 Tbsp butter and made a 1-1/2 batch, hoping to avoid the sticking! No such luck. The oatmeal was okay, but I had to use a lot of elbow grease to clean my crockpot! Also, I didn't add the 1/2&1/2 as it was extremely creamy on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I too had to play with this recipe. The first time I made it, it stuck to the sides of the cooker and was too thick. It must depend a on the type of cooker you have. What works for me is 4 cups of water (or 2 cups milk and 2 cups water), 2 cups of oatmeal. Cook on "keep warm" for 8-10 hours. Sometimes I add raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really wanted this to work. Unfortunately, this was a disaster in our crockpot. Most of it was stuck to the sides and the middle was sort of a runny mess. Maybe this recipe is entirely dependent on your crockpot. I guess I'll go back to baked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was not what I expected the oatmeal was soggy and had a burnt taste even though I cooked it for the apprpriate time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I followed the other reviewers' advice and cut the water back to 2 1/4 cups. It really is creamy and delicious, especially when you add a packet of Splenda and some cinnamon to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1CONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I put the ingredients in a lightly sprayed pyrex bowl on a trivet in the cooker. This stops the oatmeal sticking. It never fails for me and I have been using my cooker for years to make oatmeal this way. I don't add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Tasted great, but I had to play with the ingredients a bit.. I found that 4 c of water for 1 c of oats was perfect. With 3 c water, the oatmeal had dried up by morning, and with 5 c it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
It was lovely to wake up to hot oatmeal, but given my adaptations, I don't *need* to make this again, but might. I was using steel cut oats (granular in appearance / not rolled flakes) so I used the box ratio of 4c water to 1c oats. Plugged in at midnight. Awoke 7:00 a.m. to hot, creamy oatmeal. Required a stir to get rid of foamy layer, but not much loss in "cling-ons." *Note to self, use a crock pot liner for zero loss.* I stirred in salt and fat free 1/2 1/2, served a bowl with lite butter and Brown Sugar Splenda. VERY creamy, but a tad gluey. The chewy nutty texture from steel cut oats was lost; more akin to what microwave instant oatmeal is like. I ate a bowl, buttered a loaf pan and poured the rest into the loaf pan and chilled, wrapped. Next several mornings, I sliced a piece of "loaf" into a shallow dish w/ butter/sugar, and into the microwave it went for 1-2 minutes. Hot bubbling oatmeal followed, topped with a bit more 1/2 and 1/2, which was delicious. It stayed fresh for days and days that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States