Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
It was awesome to wake up to this. I lined with parchment paper to avoid sticking as described in reviews. Worked great. My add-inns were apples, some molasses . We each topped with our choice of : chia seeds raisins or almonds , butter or half and half. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I personally didn't like the texture of the oatmeal, too slimy. However my husband seemed to like it. I think it depends on everyone's personal taste and texture of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I tried it on the warm setting of the crockpot. It was SO good. Oh, it was also the small 1 qt crockpot. No sticking, moist. Cooked just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made it in my one quart size crock pot, exactly as WIRSCH suggested, on the warm setting. She is spot on! I stirred it, added some dried cranberries and brown sugar and gobbled it up! I was halfway through the bowl before I realized I hadn't put any milk on top -- and I didn't care! Next time I'll put the cranberries in with the oatmeal, and maybe some chopped apples and cinnamon, or top it with some chocolate chips! This came out nice and creamy, and it was cooked exactly right! I am frankly tired of the hype about steel cut oats, I don't like them as much as regular oatmeal, but I kept reading that that was the only kind you could use for slow cooker oatmeal. Well, the powers that be were dead wrong about that, and I'll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used a one quart crockpot and followed the recipe with one modification (butter) and it turned out very watery and plain; I added another cup of oats and two tablespoons of cinnamon. I also put all of the ingredients in at the same time with two tablespoons of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desirae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made it as written w/half steel cut and half reg. oatmeal. As recommended by another reviewer,I used a water bath in the crock pot on low for about 8 hours and that worked great - no sticking at all. However, the texture was completely off-putting. Apparently, neither I or my husband like oatmeal that has a tapioca-like texture. It was almost slimey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very creamy. I add sugar and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
the oatmeal haters in our house love this! I add the salt to the crockpot while it is cooking and omit the sugar because the kids like to add chocolate chips to theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have no idea what I did wrong with this one. It was slimy and soupy. It could have very easily been my error just not sure what I did wrong. I have had great with all the other recipes I have tried from here. If anyone has any suggestions I am open to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I finally have a good way to cook my steel cut oats without getting up early and waiting an hour. The pyrex dish inside the crock pot trick works very well, keeping the oats moist and the dishes residue-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States