Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used my SMALL crock pot. I added the old fashioned oats, water & some cinnamon & left it on low for 8 hours. Gave it a stir, added about 1/4-1/3 cup 1% milk and 8 packets of sweet n low. This is also a good time to add any fruit or nuts, if you like. THEN, I added in one packet of single serve oats to get the right consistency. I put the lid back on, popped the toast in the toaster, prepared my mug of coffee and the oats were perfect! The addition of that little packet of oats made all the difference! I'll be making this often! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I use only groats (the hull taken off the whole oat) and not the steelcut. I put it only in a 1 1/2 qt. slow cooker. The water will be 3/4 the way up the side. It comes out very soft and lovely. If you don't have it between 1/2 and 3/4 full (in case you are using a larger crock pot) it won't cook correctly and you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very good. super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this last Christmas eve for breakfast at my daughter's house. It was such a hit I'm taking it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The recipe probably should state "steel cut oats." There are some bad reviews but it appears they did not use steel cut, and I can see how anything else would result in a big mushy mess. I forgot to put these on last night, so I put them on at about 3am on high, and after a few hours I turned them down to low. The flavor is amazing! I used half water and half half&half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
absoutely lovely. Used steel cut oat so I followed advice of others and directions on container and used 4 c water to 1 c oats. Thanks to several of you easy clean up because I used a crock pot liner. It was creamy, but still had a slight chewiness. Cooked to perfection overnight. So nice to wake up and have it be all ready for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Followed recipe as written. Used tiny crock pot, turned on warm overnight as suggested by others. Used old fashioned oats, and they all had dissolved. Yes, creamy, but no oatmeal texture. Made it on the stovetop. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have tried this with several different fruits. Its a good recipe. I have the problem of the oats sticking on the sides. My husband wakes up first, so he has been adding more oats upon waking, so they will be ready when we eat breakfast. I've tried several things to avoid the sticking. None have worked yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Best ever and SO convenient and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too over-cooked. A mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States