Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I followed the other reviewers' advice and cut the water back to 2 1/4 cups. It really is creamy and delicious, especially when you add a packet of Splenda and some cinnamon to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1CONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I put the ingredients in a lightly sprayed pyrex bowl on a trivet in the cooker. This stops the oatmeal sticking. It never fails for me and I have been using my cooker for years to make oatmeal this way. I don't add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Tasted great, but I had to play with the ingredients a bit.. I found that 4 c of water for 1 c of oats was perfect. With 3 c water, the oatmeal had dried up by morning, and with 5 c it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
It was lovely to wake up to hot oatmeal, but given my adaptations, I don't *need* to make this again, but might. I was using steel cut oats (granular in appearance / not rolled flakes) so I used the box ratio of 4c water to 1c oats. Plugged in at midnight. Awoke 7:00 a.m. to hot, creamy oatmeal. Required a stir to get rid of foamy layer, but not much loss in "cling-ons." *Note to self, use a crock pot liner for zero loss.* I stirred in salt and fat free 1/2 1/2, served a bowl with lite butter and Brown Sugar Splenda. VERY creamy, but a tad gluey. The chewy nutty texture from steel cut oats was lost; more akin to what microwave instant oatmeal is like. I ate a bowl, buttered a loaf pan and poured the rest into the loaf pan and chilled, wrapped. Next several mornings, I sliced a piece of "loaf" into a shallow dish w/ butter/sugar, and into the microwave it went for 1-2 minutes. Hot bubbling oatmeal followed, topped with a bit more 1/2 and 1/2, which was delicious. It stayed fresh for days and days that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
571 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I really liked this oatmeal although my children weren't too happy with it. I cooked it on warm all night and had no problems with it. I will make this again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Well...the reviews prompted me to cook this for 4hrs and on "warm" for another 4. It was still a bit too 'goopey' [?]- "Please, sir, may I have some more?" We will try this again with different times and maybe some apples and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelly8mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Hmmmm...I'm going to alter this recipe next time to only 1/2 cup half and half, 1 cup brown sugar and add raisins. The recipe as is was way soupy, thin and too creamy. So rich that my tummy hurt :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
i read the reviews before i made this, and decided to add 2 tablespoons of butter to keep it from sticking to the crock. it either worked, or my slow cooker is not suceptible to sticking. i cooked it on low overnight, 9 hours, and it was fantastic. i made it again the next night with chopped apple added before cooking. if you do this, make sure to reduce the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very good, I made a batch over the weekend. It lasted me all week long. I place it in the microwave every morning with a pat of Margarine and a Tsp of Brown Sugar. After it is warmed up I add 1/2 of an apple. I am trying it with 1/2 peach next week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHoughton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Yummy and easy. What more can you ask for. I used the Splenda brand brown sugar with good results.Even had some left and took it to work to share for breakfast with the gang...they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALLWAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States