Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yum this is so good. I make all the time now usually w/ steel cut oat & add some Quinoa & ground flax. Creamy, yummy & good for you. Even my young boys will eat with cream & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Downey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I really wanted this to work but didn't have great success. The recipe doesn't specify the type of oatmeal and I think that is the problem. I used quick cooking, put it in my small (dip sized crock)on warm for about 7 hours. I used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added a couple of tablespoons of butter. (I found that combination in a similar recipe from a slow cooker cooking site) Mine didn't stick to the crock but the texture was way too mushy for our tastes (tapioca like). I might try it again using regular oatmeal to see if I had better luck. It would be great to wake up on a school morning to a hot breakfast ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I don't usually make my oatmeal with milk (milk products). In the morning I had a sloshy-sour mess. I almost tossed the pot, what didn't cook burnt to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this last night. After reading all the reviews, I added 2 Tbsp butter and made a 1-1/2 batch, hoping to avoid the sticking! No such luck. The oatmeal was okay, but I had to use a lot of elbow grease to clean my crockpot! Also, I didn't add the 1/2&1/2 as it was extremely creamy on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I too had to play with this recipe. The first time I made it, it stuck to the sides of the cooker and was too thick. It must depend a on the type of cooker you have. What works for me is 4 cups of water (or 2 cups milk and 2 cups water), 2 cups of oatmeal. Cook on "keep warm" for 8-10 hours. Sometimes I add raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really wanted this to work. Unfortunately, this was a disaster in our crockpot. Most of it was stuck to the sides and the middle was sort of a runny mess. Maybe this recipe is entirely dependent on your crockpot. I guess I'll go back to baked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was not what I expected the oatmeal was soggy and had a burnt taste even though I cooked it for the apprpriate time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I followed the other reviewers' advice and cut the water back to 2 1/4 cups. It really is creamy and delicious, especially when you add a packet of Splenda and some cinnamon to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1CONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I put the ingredients in a lightly sprayed pyrex bowl on a trivet in the cooker. This stops the oatmeal sticking. It never fails for me and I have been using my cooker for years to make oatmeal this way. I don't add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
710 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Tasted great, but I had to play with the ingredients a bit.. I found that 4 c of water for 1 c of oats was perfect. With 3 c water, the oatmeal had dried up by morning, and with 5 c it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States