Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I added butter and more water and it turned out terrible. 90% of it was burned to the sides and the rest was a watery mess. I am so sad. I had such high hopes for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Okay, this is a great idea and my kids love it, but I've made a few modifications that make it "really good." First of all, I use 1 cup of old-fashioned rolled oats and 1 cup of steel-cut oats. I use 8 cups of water. Peel two apples (I used Braeburn) and add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and about 4 teaspoons of butter. (The first time I made it, I melted the butter and swirled it around the crockpot to help with the sticking everyone mentioned -- and it didn't stick. But, the second time I made it, I just added it in with everything and it STILL didn't stick.) I think my crockpot runs really hot, even on low, because it was done after 4-5 hours (and was overcooked/mushy/gluey the first time when I cooked it 8 hours). My kids absolutely LOVE this and I'm so glad I found something healthy to prepare for breakfast that doesn't require a lot of work in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Definitely use steel cut oats and 4 cups of water. To keep it from sticking to the crock pot use a crock pot liner (they are like oven bags but made for the crock pot, you can find them at walmart near the ziploc bags). I add cinnamon and a peeled and diced apple to mine and in the morning brown sugar and milk on top into individual servings. It's really nice to have hot oatmeal without the hassel, especially steel cut oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My kids love this, even the one who hates oatmeal. We use steel cut oats and 4 cups of water instead of 3. It comes out perfectly. I do wish I could stop it from sticking to the sides though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious, creamy, and easy! I eat this for breakfast at least once or twice a week. Rather than use half and half, I use about two tablespoons of real maple syrup and 2/3 cup of brown sugar, added in the morning, to make homemade maple-brown sugar oatmeal. Of course, I like my oatmeal sweet. It's easy enough to add/subtract the sugar and syrup to your taste! A thousand times better than Quaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I cooked it on the warm setting overnight. In the morning I added golden raisins and chopped apples. I cranked it up to high for about 30 minutes and voila, really awesome oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunkrockDad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love how this turned out! I added 2 cups of water and 2 cups of low fat milk to 1 cup of Quaker oats. I then chopped up some green apples, threw in some raisins and added a tsp of cinnamon. I cooked it in the crockpot overnight on the low setting and in the morning I threw in 1/4 cup brown sugar, bananas and some honey. Yum!!! There was some burnt oatmeal on the sides but nothing was crispy or bad tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was so yummy !!! You must try it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
maybe it's just me - but i thought it came out like gruel. i followed the directions and it came out like paste - and i do not like that texture. the flavor was also lacking. i may play with it and see if setting on warm rather than low would help to not over cook it - any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I'm not sure if I missed a step along the way, but this was just gelatinous goo by morning. No one would touch it. I love the idea of slow cooker oatmeal, but this wasn't the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States