Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made it as written w/half steel cut and half reg. oatmeal. As recommended by another reviewer,I used a water bath in the crock pot on low for about 8 hours and that worked great - no sticking at all. However, the texture was completely off-putting. Apparently, neither I or my husband like oatmeal that has a tapioca-like texture. It was almost slimey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very creamy. I add sugar and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
the oatmeal haters in our house love this! I add the salt to the crockpot while it is cooking and omit the sugar because the kids like to add chocolate chips to theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have no idea what I did wrong with this one. It was slimy and soupy. It could have very easily been my error just not sure what I did wrong. I have had great with all the other recipes I have tried from here. If anyone has any suggestions I am open to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I finally have a good way to cook my steel cut oats without getting up early and waiting an hour. The pyrex dish inside the crock pot trick works very well, keeping the oats moist and the dishes residue-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
very good i used 1/2 cup of half and half. very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Ok so i read all the reviews before making this and really wasn't actually convinced it would turn out ok but hubby was away and the kids wanted oatmeal!! Wow it was fabulous!!! super super easy and turned out great, i made a few adjustments as recommended and cooked it in a large (ish) slow cooker that was at least 2/3's full. I used 1 cup or old fashioned oats 2 cups water 2 cups milk (2%) 2 tbsp butter 1 tbsp cinnammon I sprayed with butter first, popped everything into the slow cooker and left overnight, I cooked on low for 4 1/2 hrs and then my cooker automatically switched to warm until we got up the mext morning. I gave it a quick stir and added 2 tbsp of sugar and 1 more cup of oats, mixed it all up and the kids loved it! I had no problems with anything sticking to the sides or bottom :) I will definately be making this again, i think i'll either reduce the liquids a little or add more oats at the start to get the perfect consistancy (but adding an extra cup of oats in the morning was really no problem).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
To those of you who are going to try the recipe - please be aware that time and consistency a great deal depends on the temperature that YOUR slow cooker is working at on different settings. I sprayed the inside of my non-programmable 4 QT slow cooker with olive oil, and put in 2 cups of old-fashioned oatmeal and 8 cups of water. Dropped in little piece of butter, set my slow cooker on "Keep warm" setting and went to bed about 11 PM. I woke up at 6 AM, checked the slow cooker, and was not happy with the consistency - it seemed watery. I stirred the oatmeal, and I switched the setting to "High". After 1 hour on high setting I stir in some low-fat milk. The oatmeal that you get will be very soft and creamy - but I like it that way. I put only three stars, because there should be a note in the recipe itself that you need to try the recipe a couple of times to do it right. I would think that those with programmable slow cookers could set it on 3 hours high, or 5 hours low, and then it would switch to the warm setting automatically. My slow cooker is not programmable, and I can either have it on HIGH for, say, 1.5 hours in the evening and then switch it to "Keep warm", or try longer cooking time - not 7 hours, but 10 on "Keep warm" setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I cook this on "WARM" not LOW. Low burns it in my cooker. Variation: no sugar or salt add peanut butter last half hour of cooking, and turn to "LOW". Also, It's real good with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Way too much liquid! it was so soupy and mushy. I thought it seemed like a lot (especially since the back of the oatmeal container called for less than HALF the amount of water the recipe called for). I only put in 2cups of water and it was still a soupy mess. It tasted great, and i will make it again, but with MUCH LESS WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States