Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made it in my one quart size crock pot, exactly as WIRSCH suggested, on the warm setting. She is spot on! I stirred it, added some dried cranberries and brown sugar and gobbled it up! I was halfway through the bowl before I realized I hadn't put any milk on top -- and I didn't care! Next time I'll put the cranberries in with the oatmeal, and maybe some chopped apples and cinnamon, or top it with some chocolate chips! This came out nice and creamy, and it was cooked exactly right! I am frankly tired of the hype about steel cut oats, I don't like them as much as regular oatmeal, but I kept reading that that was the only kind you could use for slow cooker oatmeal. Well, the powers that be were dead wrong about that, and I'll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used a one quart crockpot and followed the recipe with one modification (butter) and it turned out very watery and plain; I added another cup of oats and two tablespoons of cinnamon. I also put all of the ingredients in at the same time with two tablespoons of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desirae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made it as written w/half steel cut and half reg. oatmeal. As recommended by another reviewer,I used a water bath in the crock pot on low for about 8 hours and that worked great - no sticking at all. However, the texture was completely off-putting. Apparently, neither I or my husband like oatmeal that has a tapioca-like texture. It was almost slimey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very creamy. I add sugar and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
the oatmeal haters in our house love this! I add the salt to the crockpot while it is cooking and omit the sugar because the kids like to add chocolate chips to theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have no idea what I did wrong with this one. It was slimy and soupy. It could have very easily been my error just not sure what I did wrong. I have had great with all the other recipes I have tried from here. If anyone has any suggestions I am open to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I finally have a good way to cook my steel cut oats without getting up early and waiting an hour. The pyrex dish inside the crock pot trick works very well, keeping the oats moist and the dishes residue-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
very good i used 1/2 cup of half and half. very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Ok so i read all the reviews before making this and really wasn't actually convinced it would turn out ok but hubby was away and the kids wanted oatmeal!! Wow it was fabulous!!! super super easy and turned out great, i made a few adjustments as recommended and cooked it in a large (ish) slow cooker that was at least 2/3's full. I used 1 cup or old fashioned oats 2 cups water 2 cups milk (2%) 2 tbsp butter 1 tbsp cinnammon I sprayed with butter first, popped everything into the slow cooker and left overnight, I cooked on low for 4 1/2 hrs and then my cooker automatically switched to warm until we got up the mext morning. I gave it a quick stir and added 2 tbsp of sugar and 1 more cup of oats, mixed it all up and the kids loved it! I had no problems with anything sticking to the sides or bottom :) I will definately be making this again, i think i'll either reduce the liquids a little or add more oats at the start to get the perfect consistancy (but adding an extra cup of oats in the morning was really no problem).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
To those of you who are going to try the recipe - please be aware that time and consistency a great deal depends on the temperature that YOUR slow cooker is working at on different settings. I sprayed the inside of my non-programmable 4 QT slow cooker with olive oil, and put in 2 cups of old-fashioned oatmeal and 8 cups of water. Dropped in little piece of butter, set my slow cooker on "Keep warm" setting and went to bed about 11 PM. I woke up at 6 AM, checked the slow cooker, and was not happy with the consistency - it seemed watery. I stirred the oatmeal, and I switched the setting to "High". After 1 hour on high setting I stir in some low-fat milk. The oatmeal that you get will be very soft and creamy - but I like it that way. I put only three stars, because there should be a note in the recipe itself that you need to try the recipe a couple of times to do it right. I would think that those with programmable slow cookers could set it on 3 hours high, or 5 hours low, and then it would switch to the warm setting automatically. My slow cooker is not programmable, and I can either have it on HIGH for, say, 1.5 hours in the evening and then switch it to "Keep warm", or try longer cooking time - not 7 hours, but 10 on "Keep warm" setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States