Slow Cooker Northern White Bean Bacon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe exactly as posted. It was a little bland so I added a little more sea salt and white pepper. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Love this!I didn't have carrots that was the only thing missing and at the end it was very thick so i just added more chicken broth then milk.And i used my hand blender right in the crock pot to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Alciati Strattman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great soup recipe. I added a couple tsp. of liquid smoke to it while it cooked and it gave it a smokey meat flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The 5 stars are for the taste alone - it was wonderful!! However mine was not close to being thick enough to be a chowder. Most likely it's because I used 3 cans of beans & not dry (would have liked to use 4 but no more room in pot). 1/2# bacon w/all grease & added veg.'s to fry pan (after 2 min. in microwave) before adding to beans in slo-cooker. Only real change to recipe was I added 2 rounded tsp. of ham base. I over used stick blender & will have to be careful next time. I love bean soup & only remember 1 from the past that was better than this. This is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Incredibly easy to prepare and absolutely delicious! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was yummy! I used a pound of beans so I doubled the veggies except for the potato. Skipped the Italian seasoning and used a Cajun blend instead. When it was done cooking I pureed it in the pot using an immersion blender. I didn't measure the milk just poured it in until it was the consistency I wanted. It tasted a little flat at first so I added a few dashes of tobasco sauce, still wasn't right. Ended up adding 2 T of chopped cilantro to brighten it up. Then it was really good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Tasted good the flaver was great,but i didn't quiet enjoy the texture it was like refried bean or baby food.I will make it again only puree half of the soup. I think it will give it the texture that me and my family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearlake, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe, but the flavor in this dish was really disappointing. It simply lacked completely in flavor. I tried it both pureed and not pureed as some other reviews suggested, but either way, it was just plain "blah". My husband and I both ate it (topped with shredded cheese, to try and "help" the flavor), but, unfortunately, I won't be making it again. I do alot of experimenting with recipes, but I made this according to the directions, and am not really sure what I could've added to make it better. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
was not impressed with this one. Flavor was OK but I would not blend any of it. Didn't like the texture. It would have probably been better with the beans whole. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRY209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States