Slow Cooker Northern White Bean Bacon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe exactly as posted. It was a little bland so I added a little more sea salt and white pepper. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Love this!I didn't have carrots that was the only thing missing and at the end it was very thick so i just added more chicken broth then milk.And i used my hand blender right in the crock pot to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Alciati Strattman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great soup recipe. I added a couple tsp. of liquid smoke to it while it cooked and it gave it a smokey meat flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The 5 stars are for the taste alone - it was wonderful!! However mine was not close to being thick enough to be a chowder. Most likely it's because I used 3 cans of beans & not dry (would have liked to use 4 but no more room in pot). 1/2# bacon w/all grease & added veg.'s to fry pan (after 2 min. in microwave) before adding to beans in slo-cooker. Only real change to recipe was I added 2 rounded tsp. of ham base. I over used stick blender & will have to be careful next time. I love bean soup & only remember 1 from the past that was better than this. This is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Incredibly easy to prepare and absolutely delicious! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was yummy! I used a pound of beans so I doubled the veggies except for the potato. Skipped the Italian seasoning and used a Cajun blend instead. When it was done cooking I pureed it in the pot using an immersion blender. I didn't measure the milk just poured it in until it was the consistency I wanted. It tasted a little flat at first so I added a few dashes of tobasco sauce, still wasn't right. Ended up adding 2 T of chopped cilantro to brighten it up. Then it was really good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Tasted good the flaver was great,but i didn't quiet enjoy the texture it was like refried bean or baby food.I will make it again only puree half of the soup. I think it will give it the texture that me and my family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearlake, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe, but the flavor in this dish was really disappointing. It simply lacked completely in flavor. I tried it both pureed and not pureed as some other reviews suggested, but either way, it was just plain "blah". My husband and I both ate it (topped with shredded cheese, to try and "help" the flavor), but, unfortunately, I won't be making it again. I do alot of experimenting with recipes, but I made this according to the directions, and am not really sure what I could've added to make it better. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
was not impressed with this one. Flavor was OK but I would not blend any of it. Didn't like the texture. It would have probably been better with the beans whole. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRY209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States