Slow Cooker New England Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Talk about comfort foods! This was my favorite when I was a kid. The only change I would make is to use a "real" ham. Also, I have never tried a slow cooker for this...but am going to give it a shot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was great! I cooked it on high for about 4.5 hours. I wouldn't make any changes except to say be sure to use LOW SODIUM chicken broth. The turkey ham is very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
To clear up some questions- I'm from Boston, MA (originally) and we ate this often. layered flavors," comfort food, kind of dishes. I use Turkey Ham because the pork ham leaves the dish a little greasy for me and the turkey ham seems to become a little more fall-apart tender to me. I put the garlic cloves in whole. They become sweet and tender without over-powering the dish. I always serve with a pat of butter. Sorry that I forgot that. I've begun adding caraway seeds from time to time which is a yummy addition and will top with some sour cream next time that I do. Great idea! Thanks! I like my cabbage super soft, but for the people who find the flavor too strong or the person who found the cabbage flavor "off," adding it at the end is a great idea! I also love the polish kielbasa idea. We'll have to try it. I'll bet it adds another wonderful layer of flavor! The beauty of these Old-World dishes is that you get to alter them in very small ways to make them your own. We even substitute parsnips, turnips and/or cauliflower for the potatoes sometimes and its super yummy! I hope that cleared some things up for you all and I hope it's continued to be enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made this yesterday and I used a real ham but other than that didn't change a thing and it was perfect. Reminds me of my grandmothers cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I grew up on this! My mother and grandmother made it quite often, especially during the colder months. The only differences were that they either used left-over baked ham or a good canned ham, like Hormel's Black Label. I actually like the texture of the canned ham better than the "real ham". It seems to boil well. Also they just used russet or Idaho potatoes, peeled and chopped. When I make it now I use a good chicken stock and sometimes substitute cauliflower or parsnips for the cabbage. To serve it, use a slotted spoon to spoon it onto the plate, and (this is a must in my opinion) slap a couple pads of butter on there, add salt and pepper. It's even great with sour cream! Thanks for posting this Shez. It brings back memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
The most important thing about this recipe is to remember using a turkey ham is different then using a regular ham. I have tried boiled dinner in a slow cooker with a regular ham and it did not work out as well for me as the reviewer "Alilaw" who seems to of had great results. This is a recipe even I can't mess up (too much) we'll see next time. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I used regular ham and I honestly thought the flavor was kind of cooked out of it. I also added some polish kielbasa and it was great! Next time I will skip the ham and only use kielbasa. I also used pearl onions but I think regular would have been just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I couldn't actually find a 1-lb turkey ham, so I used the 2-lb one... and I'm glad I did. We ate it all and it was fantastic! The 'soup' and veggies that we didn't finish with the first meal, we added some corned beef to a couple of days later to make an improvised corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I would use turkey sausage for this. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This dish was bland but with added seasonings was ok. We did not care for the cabbage, which tasted "off". I put in 4 cups of broth (the recipe calls for 2c.) and it still wasn't enough to cover all like it tells you to. So, ingredients/instructions are off there. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States