Slow Cooker New England Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Talk about comfort foods! This was my favorite when I was a kid. The only change I would make is to use a "real" ham. Also, I have never tried a slow cooker for this...but am going to give it a shot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I would use turkey sausage for this. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I couldn't actually find a 1-lb turkey ham, so I used the 2-lb one... and I'm glad I did. We ate it all and it was fantastic! The 'soup' and veggies that we didn't finish with the first meal, we added some corned beef to a couple of days later to make an improvised corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made this yesterday and I used a real ham but other than that didn't change a thing and it was perfect. Reminds me of my grandmothers cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This dish was bland but with added seasonings was ok. We did not care for the cabbage, which tasted "off". I put in 4 cups of broth (the recipe calls for 2c.) and it still wasn't enough to cover all like it tells you to. So, ingredients/instructions are off there. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
The most important thing about this recipe is to remember using a turkey ham is different then using a regular ham. I have tried boiled dinner in a slow cooker with a regular ham and it did not work out as well for me as the reviewer "Alilaw" who seems to of had great results. This is a recipe even I can't mess up (too much) we'll see next time. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Over-all good. I did find the ingredients and preparations was somewhat laking. For instance, the garlic cloves, are they crushed? Thrown in as is? Are they chopped or minced? It does make a difference in the taste and precise instructions would be greatly appreciated in future postings. -dsd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I actually prefer my recipe...I use Polish sausage instead of turkey ham, add 2 bay leaves and 8 peppercorns and only 2 cloves of garlic, bruised. The flavor is more smoky and rich. I also cook it in the traditional way on top of the stove...my family are from New England. I also add parsnips and rutabega wedges and a large whole onion. The cooking time is vastly reduced to 2 1/2 hours. Add the cabage wedges during the last 15 mins of cooking so that it is tender but keeps its shape. But for a first timer this recipe is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was great! I cooked it on high for about 4.5 hours. I wouldn't make any changes except to say be sure to use LOW SODIUM chicken broth. The turkey ham is very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I grew up on this! My mother and grandmother made it quite often, especially during the colder months. The only differences were that they either used left-over baked ham or a good canned ham, like Hormel's Black Label. I actually like the texture of the canned ham better than the "real ham". It seems to boil well. Also they just used russet or Idaho potatoes, peeled and chopped. When I make it now I use a good chicken stock and sometimes substitute cauliflower or parsnips for the cabbage. To serve it, use a slotted spoon to spoon it onto the plate, and (this is a must in my opinion) slap a couple pads of butter on there, add salt and pepper. It's even great with sour cream! Thanks for posting this Shez. It brings back memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States