Slow Cooker Nacho Chicken and Rice Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I wanted to review this exactly as written, however the only soup I had on hand was Fiesta Cheese soup. Honestly, even with this addition, it was really bland and the rice didn't cook, it was still crunchy. I had to take it out of the crock pot and cook on the stove to finish cooking the rice. Overall, kids thought it was ok...but I wouldn't make this again without some serious additions to the flavor. It needs some rotel or salsa to spice it up a bit. I really wanted to like it, good concept...it just fell flat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I found that there was too much liquid after cooking for 7.5 hours on low and - like many other readers - the rice was mushy. To be fair, I didn't make this recipe "as-is." I used a 16 oz can of red enchilada sauce. (I thought I had picante but I didn't.) Also, I used one can of Cheddar Cheese soup and one can of Cream of Chicken. I also added a little bit of cumin, a pinch of Adobo seasoning, and a small can of green chiles (drained) because I like spicy Mexican food. Also the chicken seemed a little over-cooked and not as juicy as some of the other slow cooker chicken meals I have tried. Although I didn't have the time, perhaps I could have shredded the chicken when I got home and simmered in a skillet to cook off some of the liquid. The flavor was the one redeeming part of this dish. Not sure if I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
i made this to try something differant... its a great recipe. I added a can of Rotelle diced tomatoes and served it with sour cream and shredded cheese on the wraps. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Tillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this for a mexican lunch party at work. It was really good. I cooked it on high for 4 1/2 hours. It was not spicey or anything. I'm not a spicey fan. It was not too mushy either, but I used extra long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I took the other reviews to heart and added some spices and kept an eye on the cooking time. I ended up cooking it on low for 5 hours, then put it on warm till it was dinnertime. We loved it, definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninakiggans
Home Town: Parris Island, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
needs more flavor/spice. try fiesta nacho cheese soup. add rice later-too mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made the recipe as is. Others said that it was bland but I didn't think so. I thought that it had good flavor. If anything you could add garlic or chili powder or something. Rice got a little mushy from being in the crockpot too long...but next time i'll just have to have it in there less time. (It only cooked for 5 hours.) But it was delicious wrapped in the tortillia with some sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Not bad... I found it a little sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Don't make this if you're looking for something spectacular, but if you're looking for something easy this is pretty good. It was a little bland, but putting some pepper sauce on it when serving really helps. I think next time I will add some diced tomatoes and green chilies and some black beans. This is also good without the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe is easy to make when you don't have time to do a lot of prep work. I threw frozen chicken breasts into the crockpot and then shredded them just before serving. The recipe as written seems to be missing that kick. I used a medium chunky salsa but the spicy flavors got lost in the rice. I would make this again with less rice and possibly add a hotter salsa along with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States