Slow Cooker Moroccan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious unique flavor! I was lazy and used canned chicken and skipped the cornstarch + water step. I thought the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have never posted a recipe review before, but I had to take the plunge for this one! The taste of the sauce can only be described as divine! I had my doubts as I was adding in the cinnamon and peaches, but this was oh, so yummy! Even my 80 yr old dad who is pretty much a meat-and-potatoes guy asked for seconds and complimented the meal. I used 5 leg quarters--the meat fell off the bone, so I fished out the bones (or at least most of them) before serving and just added the cornstarch/water mixture without removing the chicken. I also omitted the apricots--only because I did not have any on hand. I used frozen peaches--worked just fine, and I likely used more garlic than called for. This one will definitely be repeated often in our household. BTW, I put the chicken--frozen--in the crockpot the night before, left it in the fridge, and mixed up all the other ingredients so all I had to do before going to work was dump it in. Cooked all day on low. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
OMG, this was fantastic. I did double the the spices as we like a little more flavor on most dishes. And I used fresh peaches with fresh apricots as I didn't want to put over $3 worth of dried apricots and the fresh are so delicious this time of the yearjavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton',''). Oh, and I used chicken breasts on the bone with skin, and the chicken literally just fell off the bones which was one of those times I wished I had cooked it within cheese cloth because picking out the bones was a real pain, but worth it0 I also had a bundle of fresh mushrooms that I halved and tossed in and was glad. I do wish I had put some carrots in as it would have been super, so that is on the to do list for next time. We served it on white rice and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre-Sweetboo
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Thought this was a great recipe. I added more seasonings and extra garlic. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is great! My husband has been bugging me every week to make it again! I added a tablespoon of hot asian chili to give it more kick. Also I recommend tossing the chicken on the stove before putting it in, just to avoid that boiled chicken taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
One of my friends described this as "restaurant delicious!" I did alter the recipe a bit, just due to what I had on hand: Instead of chicken, I substituted 2 turkey drumsticks and 2 turkey thighs. (about 2 lbs of meat). (This may solve the problem of bland meat). I also used a large can of garbanzo beans. I couldn't find peaches in season at the grocery, so I used a 28 oz can of sliced peaches and drained off the juice. I added heaping portions of all the spices since I was putting in extra meat, etc. So this ended up not fitting in my small slow cooker- I cooked it on the stove in a large cast dutch oven. Simmered it a couple hours on the stove, then pulled the meat from the bone and added the cornstarch + water. Yum yum yum! So amazing over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
WOW!! This had several layers of flavor and spice, not to mention how easy it is to throw together! I had some pre-cooked BSCB that I chopped up with everything else; did not have any apricots on hand so omitted that. Next time will get some cuz we thought it would really add more flavor to the mix. Served it over rice and it was a big hit for both DH and myself. Highly recommend trying this one-it will be a regular for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is awesome- flavor was perfect. I served this on top of fresh baby spinach with some 1/2c cous cous on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
i LOVED THIS AND ALL MY PICKY EATERS ASK ME FOR THIS. i DID MAKE IT A BIT SPICIER FOR OUR TASTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I loved this dish. It's easy and full of flavor. This will be served again at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States