Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I was so excited to try this recipe - but what an epic failure! Such a waste of expensive meat. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was horrible. And I have NEVER written a negative review but this is a costly recipe to be fooled by. Suggestions: hoisin sauce is overpowering so you really better like it, try the recipe with a cheaper cut of meat, and Kelly (Jan 2015) had a thought to try cooking in a skillet. Any changes have to be better than written as is. I'm throwing it all away without serving, it's inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
It was not to my liking. the hoisin and ginger flavors were waay to strong. the onions and the pepper I added were mush by the time the it was "done" cooking. So i would suggest adding any veggies you want to add much later into the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Lawler
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Next time, cut back on the sugar, use regular (not reduced sodium like I did) soy sauce, and follow other poster's suggestion of adding onions the last 2 hours of cooking. I also think mushrooms would be a nice addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lawler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Excellent! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Quite simple and tasty! I purchased beef for stir-fry and it couldn't have been easier. We served it with white rice, stir-fry California blend vegetables and with Easy Egg Drop Soup from this site. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I followed recipe other than cut sugar to 1/3cup. Its really tasty but bit salty for me. Next time i would cut down soy sauce to 1/4cup. And add dash of crushed red pepper flake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
After two disastrous attempts in the crockpot I cooked this in a skillet on the stove. It turned out really well. It was mushy & gross in the crockpot. I wish there was a way for people to comment on comments. Maybe I'd find out what I'm doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Have made this a few times now. Very tasty. Works with any sort of steak you choose. There's some in my crockpot into its 2nd hour now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_Coco
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this recipe and i must say that it was delicious. The recipe calls for 4 hours of cooking, well, make sure you do not over cook it. I did, i set my slow cooker for 4 hrs but after it's done it automatically goes to warm - i guess the warm setting turned my flank steak cubes to shreds. The taste was wonderful, but this is not a recipe that you can walk away from. I can't wait to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
kids loved it and beef was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States