Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
My kids liked it! I substituted stew meat(which is what I happened to have on hand). I tenderized it with a mallet, and cut it into smaller strips. After that I followed the recipie as it was. It cooked a little too fast in my slow cooker so I am going to decrease the cooking time and add a little more water. We also added in some water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and mini corn right before we served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
This is horrible. I always eat mongolian beef at the restaurants and this recipe is far away to be mongolian beef. Horrible taste. Very disappointed. Waste of time and products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, and I don't think the hoisin sauce belongs in this recipe, it added a weird BBQ type flavor, and definitely add the vegetables (onions, etc) during the last 1-2 hours of cooking. I recommend not cooking this in the slow cooker, I think it adds to the nasty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Harper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I was so excited to try this recipe - but what an epic failure! It was horrible. Suggestions: hoisin sauce is overpowering so you really better like it, try the recipe with a cheaper cut of meat, and Kelly (Jan 2015) had a thought to try cooking in a skillet. Any changes have to be better than written as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
It was not to my liking. the hoisin and ginger flavors were waay to strong. the onions and the pepper I added were mush by the time the it was "done" cooking. So i would suggest adding any veggies you want to add much later into the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy L
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Next time, cut back on the sugar, use regular (not reduced sodium like I did) soy sauce, and follow other poster's suggestion of adding onions the last 2 hours of cooking. I also think mushrooms would be a nice addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Excellent! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Quite simple and tasty! I purchased beef for stir-fry and it couldn't have been easier. We served it with white rice, stir-fry California blend vegetables and with Easy Egg Drop Soup from this site. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I followed recipe other than cut sugar to 1/3cup. Its really tasty but bit salty for me. Next time i would cut down soy sauce to 1/4cup. And add dash of crushed red pepper flake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
After two disastrous attempts in the crockpot I cooked this in a skillet on the stove. It turned out really well. It was mushy & gross in the crockpot. I wish there was a way for people to comment on comments. Maybe I'd find out what I'm doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States