Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Definitely a great easy recipe for my favorite appliance....The Slow Cooker! I liked the sweetness, but next time I will put the onions in after 2 hours time has passed, they were just a little too mushy. I will also add some red bell peppers and a little chile sauce to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. I did change a few things. I added the onions & some red & green bell pepper coarsely chopped the last hour. I served sriracha on it to kick up the heat. Served over rice. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made one major mistake and it still turned out great!! I didn't cut up my meat. I seared it, then put it in the crock pot. I always use 1/2 meats when I use the slow cooker, so that may have been what saved me. I set it to low for the first three hours, then cranked it up to high for the last hour. Mmmmm.... It was wonderful! Served it over jasmin rice and now have another family favorite. Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Would rather use flank steak plain on a grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
So excited to try this recipe for my husband and kids. I used flap meat and half of it disintegrated into the sauce which ends up being too sweet due to the sugar. Definitely not going to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm giving this five stars, because I prepared it as written and it was perfect. People why are you even reviewing a recipe that you are altering and then saying it's too salty? Of course it's too salty you cut back on the sugar. The sugar cuts the salt. Where did you learn to cook? If you are going to cut the sugar you have to either use sodium free soy sauce or cut back on that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Too mushy and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Too salty. Either reduce soy sauce, or increase sugar. Too much sugar would make it too sweet, so add a bit at a time, tasting as you go. Chemically, sugar cancels out salt. (Na+ vs. OH- branches on glucose molecules). So you should reach a balance point where its neither too salty or too sweet as long as you adjust proportions slowly. Also tended to stick to pot at the bottom. Maybe use a crockpot liner or add more liquid to avoid burning the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I didn't change the recipe at all. My husband loved it, when I do it again I will use less onion the flavor was too strong for me, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Rockstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I didn't care for this recipe for a number of reason. It had too much sauce, was too sweet, and the onions were mushy. I would not coat the meat in corn starch as you really can't brown it with cornstarch. It should be browned in flour. And it really didn't taste like Mongolian Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States