Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this recipe because I am a big fan of slow cooker recipes. I wanted something different from the usual roast or stew kind of recipe and I definitely got something different. I had never had hoison sauce before so I did not know how sweet it was. Luckily I tasted the sauce before putting in the rest of the sugar. I only used a 1/4 a cup of sugar because I thought the hoison sauce was sweet enough on its own. That being said I probably could have omitted it all together. My husband liked the recipe more than I did, it was just a little too sweet for me. Next time I'm going to try what other people have, and add the onions later, omit the sugar, and maybe add a little sesame oil. Overall it was a good meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Meh, didn't turn out well. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe was perfect. This is what I did: I cut the sugar in half, added some red pepper flakes, and followed the homemade Hoisin sauce recipe from the comments section. I waited until about 3 hours in to add the onions so that they would still be crunchy, and I stir fried some broccoli, then tossed it in with beef on the last half hour. The beef was extremely tender and the sauce was the perfecy ratio of salty to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
No thanks. I will stick to takeout. I followed the recipe, but it turned out too salty & way too onion-y for me! My family didn't like it at all & we ended up throwing the leftovers out. Horrible! I will stick to takeout next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xing Ling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spycsalmom
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used some beef shoulder cuts. Left it in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. Threw that bad boy on some white rice and smothered it with that thick, sweet sauce. Dunzo. Time for a nap. This recipe is bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bridgette
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this as well as the House Fried Rice recipe. They were both absolutely awesome. Instead of doing the slow cooker though I cooked the meat in the sauce on the stove for 30 minutes at medium heat. This helped the meat soak in the flavor without the hours in a slow cooker. Delicious and less time consuming way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great, loved it, delicious, added carrots and green beans, would be good with red pepper flakes, water chestnuts,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was under-whelmed by this recipe. I did follow the recipe with only a substitution of London Broil as the beef. While it was very tender and flavorful, it did not taste like Chinese. It tasted more like a pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Okay this was really good, did motify the recipe, used round steak instead of flank. Reduced soy sauce slightly, only used 1/4 cup brown sugar, did not have green onion substituted with green pepper, and added 1/2 tsp. Crushed red pepper. I used double the meat but could have used alot more since the sauce in this is abundant, was worried about not doubling the recipe for sauce, there is no need plenty of sauce. Kids loved it and so did I, keeper for recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblymonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is very close to what you would get at PF Chang's. The only few tweaks you might want to consider are the following: (1) Put your beef in the freezer for about 15 minutes prior to slicing. It will make this job a WHOLE lot easier. (2) The amount of hoisin sauce is a little too much. In fact, to make this dish more "Chang-like" you should marinate the meat for 2 hours prior to frying (after you slice it). After slicing the meat, marinate it with the cornstarch, 1/2 c. low-sodium soy sauce and 2 T hoisin sauce before cooking in the oil. After your 2 hour marinating, then fry the meat. PF Chang's uses mushroom oil. I know this is not easy to find, so I would suggest peanut oil. After your meat is fried/browned then continue on with the recipe as stated, however I would omit the 1/2 Cup hoisin sauce as you already have this in your meat via the marinade. Also, as many have mentioned, add your veg in the last 1 hour of crock pot cooking. I know this may add a bit more time, and more attention but following these few tweaks will surely pay off in the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States