Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Spycsalmom
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used some beef shoulder cuts. Left it in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. Threw that bad boy on some white rice and smothered it with that thick, sweet sauce. Dunzo. Time for a nap. This recipe is bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bridgette
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this as well as the House Fried Rice recipe. They were both absolutely awesome. Instead of doing the slow cooker though I cooked the meat in the sauce on the stove for 30 minutes at medium heat. This helped the meat soak in the flavor without the hours in a slow cooker. Delicious and less time consuming way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great, loved it, delicious, added carrots and green beans, would be good with red pepper flakes, water chestnuts,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was under-whelmed by this recipe. I did follow the recipe with only a substitution of London Broil as the beef. While it was very tender and flavorful, it did not taste like Chinese. It tasted more like a pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Okay this was really good, did motify the recipe, used round steak instead of flank. Reduced soy sauce slightly, only used 1/4 cup brown sugar, did not have green onion substituted with green pepper, and added 1/2 tsp. Crushed red pepper. I used double the meat but could have used alot more since the sauce in this is abundant, was worried about not doubling the recipe for sauce, there is no need plenty of sauce. Kids loved it and so did I, keeper for recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblymonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is very close to what you would get at PF Chang's. The only few tweaks you might want to consider are the following: (1) Put your beef in the freezer for about 15 minutes prior to slicing. It will make this job a WHOLE lot easier. (2) The amount of hoisin sauce is a little too much. In fact, to make this dish more "Chang-like" you should marinate the meat for 2 hours prior to frying (after you slice it). After slicing the meat, marinate it with the cornstarch, 1/2 c. low-sodium soy sauce and 2 T hoisin sauce before cooking in the oil. After your 2 hour marinating, then fry the meat. PF Chang's uses mushroom oil. I know this is not easy to find, so I would suggest peanut oil. After your meat is fried/browned then continue on with the recipe as stated, however I would omit the 1/2 Cup hoisin sauce as you already have this in your meat via the marinade. Also, as many have mentioned, add your veg in the last 1 hour of crock pot cooking. I know this may add a bit more time, and more attention but following these few tweaks will surely pay off in the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used beef country style rib meat. It was SO EASY and SO GOOD! No more take out for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Definitely a great easy recipe for my favorite appliance....The Slow Cooker! I liked the sweetness, but next time I will put the onions in after 2 hours time has passed, they were just a little too mushy. I will also add some red bell peppers and a little chile sauce to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. I did change a few things. I added the onions & some red & green bell pepper coarsely chopped the last hour. I served sriracha on it to kick up the heat. Served over rice. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made one major mistake and it still turned out great!! I didn't cut up my meat. I seared it, then put it in the crock pot. I always use 1/2 meats when I use the slow cooker, so that may have been what saved me. I set it to low for the first three hours, then cranked it up to high for the last hour. Mmmmm.... It was wonderful! Served it over jasmin rice and now have another family favorite. Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States