Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
After reading reviews about the rice clumping....I did as one said "mix while it is cooking". There was no problem with clumping with occasional mixing up the rice. I shredded the chicken when it was done instead of cubing it. Just make sure that the chicken is placed on the bottom so it cooks enuf to be shredded. Also added so cayenne to give it a little kick. Then some shredded cheddar cheese as a topper. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I also used 3 breasts instead of 2. I omitted the green peppers to make it more kid friendly but to no avail. By itself, this is not very appetizing. It was okay served like nachos but I think I will try to make burritos with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coltonsmama2011
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Pretty good, quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Easy to tailor recipe to spicy/non-spicy preferences. Four chicken breasts were moist and the rice was a great consistency. I plated with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled tortilla chips on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Everybody liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Cooked it for over 3 hours on high. The chicken was done but the rice was not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I experimented. Quinoa instead of rice. Salsa Verde instead of red salsa. Sofrito instead of taco seasoning. I expected it to be more aromatic, yet don't know how to make it that. The taste was underwhelming at first, but the after taste was satisfying. I can't wait to do it again, and make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe was great in my rice cooker/food steamer!! I put the rice, chicken broth, salsa (used about 1 1/2 cups), chopped up onion & 1/2 of the taco seasoning in the main part of the rice cooker, and then put the taco seasoned chicken in the steamer tray of the rice cooker - I didn't have chilies so they weren't added, and I also added a little more chicken - it was delicious!! I've never tried cooking rice in the slow cooker so I'm not sure how that turns out, but the whole meal in the rice cooker took about 40 mins so I didn't have to wait 3 hours to eat :) I also added some mild cheddar cheese & sour cream - It was moist & so yummy in a fajita shell too - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Even my pickiest eater cleared her plate. I used 3 chicken breasts instead of two and I used light red kidney beans instead of black beans. I served it in a burrito shell and added sour cream, cheese and salsa. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was excellent! I followed recipe to a T, no clumping or undercooked rice. Was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States