Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Easy to tailor recipe to spicy/non-spicy preferences. Four chicken breasts were moist and the rice was a great consistency. I plated with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled tortilla chips on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Everybody liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Cooked it for over 3 hours on high. The chicken was done but the rice was not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I experimented. Quinoa instead of rice. Salsa Verde instead of red salsa. Sofrito instead of taco seasoning. I expected it to be more aromatic, yet don't know how to make it that. The taste was underwhelming at first, but the after taste was satisfying. I can't wait to do it again, and make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe was great in my rice cooker/food steamer!! I put the rice, chicken broth, salsa (used about 1 1/2 cups), chopped up onion & 1/2 of the taco seasoning in the main part of the rice cooker, and then put the taco seasoned chicken in the steamer tray of the rice cooker - I didn't have chilies so they weren't added, and I also added a little more chicken - it was delicious!! I've never tried cooking rice in the slow cooker so I'm not sure how that turns out, but the whole meal in the rice cooker took about 40 mins so I didn't have to wait 3 hours to eat :) I also added some mild cheddar cheese & sour cream - It was moist & so yummy in a fajita shell too - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Even my pickiest eater cleared her plate. I used 3 chicken breasts instead of two and I used light red kidney beans instead of black beans. I served it in a burrito shell and added sour cream, cheese and salsa. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was excellent! I followed recipe to a T, no clumping or undercooked rice. Was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
So Yummy!! Rice was a little mushy but we wrapped it in tortillas and you couldn't tell. We also topped with some cheese and sour cream. Will definitely be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
From previous experience I would not cook rice in the slow cooker. Cook the rice with the chicken broth in a separate pot or rice cooker about 30-40 minutes before the crockpot chicken is done. Just put the remaining ingredients in the crockpot and cook. Then serve over the rice. You will not have lumpy,mushy, or crunchy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was popular with the family (i.e. not too spicy) and easy to make. The chicken came out tasting moist, not that over cooked dry taste I have had from other chicken crock pot recipes. I'm glad someone posted about the rice clumping. I made sure I stirred it well. It wasn't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States