Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was very good. However I made a few changes: rather than tomato sauce and a fresh tomato I used canned diced tomatoes; I substituted the broth with 1/4 to 1/2 cup white wine and I used green beans instead of okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
You know, I really think this is D-lish. I am not a big okra fan so I just left it out. The flavors are awesome and I added a few more raisins than what the recipe called for. For those other reviewers that didn't like the taste, you have to remember, this is MEDITERRANEAN stew, not AMERICAN stew. If you don't like ethnic foods- you won't like this but for those who can appreciate the flavors, it's awesome. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have, what I think is, an avg size crock pot. I ended up leaving out 1/3 of the squash, 1/2 the okra and some eggplant to fit it all in! Definitely different. A good way to cook eggplant. I served it w/gnocci (potato pasta). My husband liked it, I thought the seasonings were off - and I love all those in the receipe. We had left overs, so the next day made Couscous and made a veggi burrito w/the stew, cheese, couscous and Louisiana hot sauce - Now THAT was GOOD!!!! A good, very healthy receipe, but you'll probably need to make little changes for it to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I served this for my vegetarian guests for Thanksgiving. It was a perfect companion for other fall dishes. The color and aroma are great. I'll only cook it for 8 hours next time and will add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I actually followed the recipe exactly and really liked it. I brought some in to work and three people asked me for the recipe. I agree, though, that the cooking time should be reduced. I wouldn't recommend omitting the squash, the cumin, or the tumeric, since that is what gives the recipe its unique sweet/spicy mediterranean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I only gave this recipe a 4 star rating because my hubby really liked it. I did not. 10 Hours in my slow cooker was way too long and 8 might have been more like it. I'll only make this again if hubby requests it which is unlikely unless I mention it to him. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Love the smell. I used an carrots, butternut squash & spag. squash and increased all the spices with a touch of salt. Also, served over brown rice with garbonzo beans. Next time I'll only do 4 hours on high. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This was incredibly tasty and easy. Just a lot of chopping the night before, then coming home to a yummy smelling apartment. Sadly, this can only really be made in the Fall. I'll definitely make it at least one more time before the season is through. My boyfriend and I both thought this dish was wonderfully full of Fall veggie flavor with the raisins being a great touch. I cooked it for 9 hours, and I would probably try to cook it a little less (8 1/2) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This is by far the best thing that has ever come out of my slow cooker!!! I skipped the okra and added potatoes... Made another batch to freeze because Im sure I'll crave it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
yummy! first of all, 8 hours on low is WAY TOO LONG. i cooked mine on low for 3.5 hours & i think it's perfect. i made only a couple small changes to the recipe. first, i used an entire can of stewed tomatoes & 1/3 can of tomato sauce in place of the entire can of sauce & fresh tomato. and i definitely recommend using more tumeric, cinnamon and especially cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States