Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Love the smell. I used an carrots, butternut squash & spag. squash and increased all the spices with a touch of salt. Also, served over brown rice with garbonzo beans. Next time I'll only do 4 hours on high. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was very good. However I made a few changes: rather than tomato sauce and a fresh tomato I used canned diced tomatoes; I substituted the broth with 1/4 to 1/2 cup white wine and I used green beans instead of okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This turned out well. I doubled all the spices and the raisins. I added a few mushrooms because I had them in the fridge, about 4 oz. of red wine for depth, some salt and a can of chick peas in the last hour. The dish was well received when served over basmati rice and garnished with toasted almond sliver. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
We didn't like this much. Even with more spices, garlic, and a touch of butter, the okra and zucchini did not do well with the squash. If I were to do this again, I'd put in potatoes and leave out the zucchini and raisins. Also, it cooked on slow in about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This is fantastic! Probably one of the best vegan recipes I've had. I didn't do anything different to the recipe except I added about a half cup of chopped walnuts and added extra raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Smelled great, tasted very bland. Should have used a lot more spices. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was not so great...the eggplant was really bitter and the okra took on a slime-y quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I used a roaster oven instead of a slow cooker. This way I was able to cook the onion and garlic a little while peeling and dicing the squash, that was the hardest part. I kind of eyeballed most of the ingredients rather than really measuring them out. For instance I diced up and threw in an entire eggplant, two small zucchini, and I added a can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomato. I have to recommend using golden raisins. Than I dbl. all the spices and included salt. So I didn't follow this recipe exactly but it turned out grate. A bit sweet and just a little spicy hot. Good for Vegetarian kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I served this for my vegetarian guests for Thanksgiving. It was a perfect companion for other fall dishes. The color and aroma are great. I'll only cook it for 8 hours next time and will add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This was incredibly tasty and easy. Just a lot of chopping the night before, then coming home to a yummy smelling apartment. Sadly, this can only really be made in the Fall. I'll definitely make it at least one more time before the season is through. My boyfriend and I both thought this dish was wonderfully full of Fall veggie flavor with the raisins being a great touch. I cooked it for 9 hours, and I would probably try to cook it a little less (8 1/2) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States