Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My mom and I had this for our "vegeatarian night". My dad is Greek and we are used to eating very exotic and flavorful foods. This deffinatly was extraodinary for us and the whole family loved it. The flavors were so unique with a bit of a spice. However, at the end I did pu tin a 1/2 cup olive oil because it was a bit wattery. Also, THIS DISH DOES **NOT*** NEED 10 WHOLE OURS!!!!!! It would turn to mush if tyou did that! It needs about 7 hours on low..(don't worry everything will be fully cooked). Other than that, this recipe was a deffinate 5 stars. Served over hot grainy brown rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I had such high hopes for this recipe. i followed it exactly - except I used a tin of tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Is this where I went wrong? I cut the veg into large diced pieces and cooked for 8 hours but it turned out very mushy and had a strange taste - quite sour. My husband is refusing to eat any more of this, even though I used up half our weekly veggies in it! I'm really not looking forward to taking it to work for lunch tomorrow. Sorry but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I enjoyed this one. I cheated a little bit because I did not have all of the ingredients. I left out the eggplant and the okra. I did use the butternut squash,onions,garlic,carrots,fire roasted diced tomatoes, and I added fresh cauliflower. The flavors of the spices were really good and different. I also added golden raisens and used fat free/low sodium chix broth. Loved the chick peas. This was a nice change of pace. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Nice blends of taste...a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LetyPat
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I picked out the smallest butternut squash (4lbs) I could find at the store. After cubing 1/2 of the squash, it was enough to fill the crockpot half way and everything else just fit under the lid. The only thing I added to the recipe was a Jalapeno instead of the red pepper. It turned out great! We really liked it and will make this again. We served it with a loaf of French bread and a salad - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Even my husband who likes very heardy meals liked this one. He did eat considerably more than what is considered one serving, but with such a healthy low cal meal that is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I loved this stew. It was full flavored and not at all bland or "strange". Even my daughter, who hates almost everything, enjoyed this stew. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Simple, healthy, and quite flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was good. I added extra garlic(because we like). I didn't have tomato sauce so I used 'spicy red pepper spaghetti sauce. I also had left over deer loin and added it as my guys won't eat much without meat. I needed to add extra liquid 1/2 way thru. I only cooked four hours and yes some of the vegies were mushy but that only thickened up the stew. I cut my vegies larger so they wouldn't be too overcooked and didn't thaw the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow! What a great use of the crock pot. I didn't think I'd like it, but I LOVE it. I only make one-dish meals in the slow cooker, and that limits you to soups and stews, pretty much. This is definitely a different flavor in stews! I admit, my 8-yr-old wouldn't eat it - she only picked out the squash and carrots. But she's going through a picky phase. My 2-yr-old gobbled it all down. I left out the okra (didn't have) and swapped in a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato and sauce. I pretty much scaled back the recipe to about 3/4, to fit in my crock pot. Loved the spices, subtle but exotic. Served over basmati rice. This would have been fantastic with some good feta cheese, but I'm pregnant so that will have to wait a few more months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States