Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I didn't have squash, zucchini, turemic, or raisins. But I did add green pepper, potato, broccoli. I only added 1/4 teaspoon of cumin but I didn't like the taste and it also tasted spicy from the red pepper flakes and bitter from the eggplant. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome dish. Like others I made some changes... I used celery root instead of squash and asparagas in place of okra, which I believe kept my veggies from going mushy. It was so great we never got to serve it over rice. We all went back for 2nds and the pot was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
very good. I add dates and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I probably should have read all of the other reviews before I tried this recipe. Unfortunately, this recipe is going to have to receive my first negative review. I don't know if it was my slow cooker or what, but this just did not turn out good at all. The vegetables were completely mushy (and I didn't even cook it 8 hours... it was more like 6) and the flavor was very bland and tasteless. I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good. I had to make some minor changes. First off, I took what other reviewers said and only cooked it seven hours. I used peas, not okra. Didn't have cumin or turmeric or red pepper flakes so used dried basil and Cheyenne pepper instead. Followed all else but since I had to scale down the recipe quite a bit, the liquid seemed not enough so I used two cups of chicken stock and added some water as well. Turned out very soupy, but the taste was wonderful and I agree with the reviewer who said the grape tomatoes added pop as I used those as well. Will use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I omitted the okra and pretty much doubled the spices. I also added a handful of grape tomatoes instead of a chopped tomato. I thought they made nice little flavor bombs. This dish had such a nice aroma and it reheated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
very good stew...very different also. Great flavors..who would ever think of putting raisins in a stew! I used frozen green beans instead of the okra. I also chose to simmer on the stove for a few hours instead of slow cooking it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious. I substituted peas for okra, sweet potatoes for eggplant. I had to add a can of tomatoes as it was a little dry. I did not put my zucchini and frozen peas in until the last 30-40 minutes. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I really wanted this to be good but like so many others, my veg turned to mush. I cut the pieces large, used less broth, and cut down the cook time but it just didn't work for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good Greek flavor. 10 hours is too long for this dish. I subtituted peas for okra, and cranberries for raisins--it was sweet--but very good over rice or cousous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States