Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe didn't really work for me as it was. I used all of the vegetables in the recipe, but exchanged the tomato/sauce for a can of petite diced tomatoes. The consistency was fine (cooked on low 5-6 hours), but the seasoning was SO BLAND. I came home from work to my roommates complaining about the boring crock-pot dinner I'd left them with. After about doubling all of the seasoning and adding some sugar, it was much better. It's also been better as leftovers. Would make again, but definitely need to adjust the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I actually followed the recipe exactly and really liked it. I brought some in to work and three people asked me for the recipe. I agree, though, that the cooking time should be reduced. I wouldn't recommend omitting the squash, the cumin, or the tumeric, since that is what gives the recipe its unique sweet/spicy mediterranean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I didn't have squash, zucchini, turemic, or raisins. But I did add green pepper, potato, broccoli. I only added 1/4 teaspoon of cumin but I didn't like the taste and it also tasted spicy from the red pepper flakes and bitter from the eggplant. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome dish. Like others I made some changes... I used celery root instead of squash and asparagas in place of okra, which I believe kept my veggies from going mushy. It was so great we never got to serve it over rice. We all went back for 2nds and the pot was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
very good. I add dates and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I probably should have read all of the other reviews before I tried this recipe. Unfortunately, this recipe is going to have to receive my first negative review. I don't know if it was my slow cooker or what, but this just did not turn out good at all. The vegetables were completely mushy (and I didn't even cook it 8 hours... it was more like 6) and the flavor was very bland and tasteless. I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good. I had to make some minor changes. First off, I took what other reviewers said and only cooked it seven hours. I used peas, not okra. Didn't have cumin or turmeric or red pepper flakes so used dried basil and Cheyenne pepper instead. Followed all else but since I had to scale down the recipe quite a bit, the liquid seemed not enough so I used two cups of chicken stock and added some water as well. Turned out very soupy, but the taste was wonderful and I agree with the reviewer who said the grape tomatoes added pop as I used those as well. Will use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I omitted the okra and pretty much doubled the spices. I also added a handful of grape tomatoes instead of a chopped tomato. I thought they made nice little flavor bombs. This dish had such a nice aroma and it reheated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
very good stew...very different also. Great flavors..who would ever think of putting raisins in a stew! I used frozen green beans instead of the okra. I also chose to simmer on the stove for a few hours instead of slow cooking it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious. I substituted peas for okra, sweet potatoes for eggplant. I had to add a can of tomatoes as it was a little dry. I did not put my zucchini and frozen peas in until the last 30-40 minutes. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States