Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a delicious stew. I did double the spices as suggested. Instead of squash, I used sweet potatoes. Used green beans instead of okra as suggested. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Cooked on low for 4.5 hrs and wasn't done so let it cook while I was out. It cooked for 10 hrs or so on low and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Gould Lawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
delicious! I left the eggplant out. But will be definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Ah man, I was looking forward to making this (only saw a few reviews initially - didn't know there were more). While it had a nice flavor, something was definitely missing. It needs some more excitement! I would add toasted almonds and feta cheese and perhaps some coconut. My husband hated it - thought it tasted like cardboard, but I don't want to waste it, so I'm going to try to add some stuff to it. Chick peas, as someone mentioned would be nice. I used green beans instead of okra (and of course added salt) and cooked over the stove top (1-2 hours). Any other ideas, people? Something is definitely missing here, though it's extremely healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
yummy! first of all, 8 hours on low is WAY TOO LONG. i cooked mine on low for 3.5 hours & i think it's perfect. i made only a couple small changes to the recipe. first, i used an entire can of stewed tomatoes & 1/3 can of tomato sauce in place of the entire can of sauce & fresh tomato. and i definitely recommend using more tumeric, cinnamon and especially cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
We love this stew - you don't miss the meat at all! 8 hours was too long in the crock pot - maybe I just cut my veggies too small, so keep that in mind when you're cutting/cooking. Next time I'm adding in a can of chick peas, and beans. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Essex, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe to the T and found the stew to be too sweet for my taste. I generally love squash and eggplant but the spices did not blend well with my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplegoober
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I love this stew! I like making it ahead of time and bagging it in a disposable slow cooker liner then, freezing. The night before I can defrost in the fridge and pop it in the crock pot the next morning! Awesome served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADub311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
it was good but cant be left on too long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yishai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
DELICIOUS! Made a few changes...doubled all of the spices for some more "bite" and I thought the flavors tasted perfect - sweet and then a little bit of spice. I also nixed the squash and added extra raisins. Only cooked for 8 hours as suggested by others. Perfection! Love it and will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Yum(: Since I love soft cooked vegetables, I was very happy with the outcome of this dish, along with the spices paired with them. I do agree with other raters by cutting the cooking time, it all depends on your crock pot and how you like your vegies cooked. Oh and don't forget to add SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States