Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this and really enjoyed it! I made a few changes as I went along as I felt they were appropriate: -Omitted the okra (because I forgot to add it) -Doubled all spices except cinnamon -Doubled the tomato sauce and vegetable broth to give it a little more liquid. Even with those additions, it was still very thick. -Cooked on low for 4 hours because I was worried about over-cooking and the squashes breaking down. I will certainly plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great and easy recipe. I used 1/2 teaspoon all of all the spices. Also added chicken breasts. Laid the chicken on top of the veggies to cook then shredded it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
was good - not great, flavors were a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a delicious stew. I did double the spices as suggested. Instead of squash, I used sweet potatoes. Used green beans instead of okra as suggested. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Cooked on low for 4.5 hrs and wasn't done so let it cook while I was out. It cooked for 10 hrs or so on low and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Gould Lawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
delicious! I left the eggplant out. But will be definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Ah man, I was looking forward to making this (only saw a few reviews initially - didn't know there were more). While it had a nice flavor, something was definitely missing. It needs some more excitement! I would add toasted almonds and feta cheese and perhaps some coconut. My husband hated it - thought it tasted like cardboard, but I don't want to waste it, so I'm going to try to add some stuff to it. Chick peas, as someone mentioned would be nice. I used green beans instead of okra (and of course added salt) and cooked over the stove top (1-2 hours). Any other ideas, people? Something is definitely missing here, though it's extremely healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
yummy! first of all, 8 hours on low is WAY TOO LONG. i cooked mine on low for 3.5 hours & i think it's perfect. i made only a couple small changes to the recipe. first, i used an entire can of stewed tomatoes & 1/3 can of tomato sauce in place of the entire can of sauce & fresh tomato. and i definitely recommend using more tumeric, cinnamon and especially cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
We love this stew - you don't miss the meat at all! 8 hours was too long in the crock pot - maybe I just cut my veggies too small, so keep that in mind when you're cutting/cooking. Next time I'm adding in a can of chick peas, and beans. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Essex, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe to the T and found the stew to be too sweet for my taste. I generally love squash and eggplant but the spices did not blend well with my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplegoober
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I love this stew! I like making it ahead of time and bagging it in a disposable slow cooker liner then, freezing. The night before I can defrost in the fridge and pop it in the crock pot the next morning! Awesome served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADub311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States