Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are very tasty mashed potatoes. Made them last year for Christmas dinner (everyone loved them), and realized when I went looking for the recipe for this years dinner that I had never rated the recipe. Took a few tips from others and put a linen dish towel under lid to absorb condensation, stirred occasionally while in the crock and to save a few calories omitted butter at the end and never missed it. Saves a burner on the stove and also eliminates the last minute mashing of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These were great for Thanksgiving and my daughter has requested them for Christmas! I did add a teaspoon of pesto and this time she wants cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Amazing!! I have made this recipe 4 times in the past 6 weeks and each time they have been the highlight of the meal! I will never make mashed potatoes any other way. The first time I made the recipe exactly as outlined, but have now perfected the recipe to my liking. I use yellow potatoes, and cut the sour cream in half, added a little more butter, garlic salt and parsley flakes. Talk about melt in your mouth, no need for gravy deliciousness! I found that boiling the potatoes a little longer helps with the creamy texture I like. If you like your potatoes lumpy, boil as directed. I placed paper towels between the lid and potatoes, I recommend this. I have made this the day before and placed the crockpot in the fridge overnight and cooked in the crockpot the next day and also made them with 3 hours til meal time, both were wonderful! Everyone will want your recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Voted "absolutely perfect" by family. First time I used my potato ricer. Second time just smashed with potato masher. This is easier and just as good as ricing method. Make ahead and warm in crock pot the day of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Hosting Thanksgiving is stressful - no matter your menu or guests - you're going to get a little rushed. This recipe however - definitely helped minimize those feelings! Easy and delicious. Might add some minced garlic or a dab of horseradish next time. Would also be easy to use chive-cream cheese. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Sooo good! Made these for Thanksgiving.. Wowsers! I added a little buttermilk and butter right before serving. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I skipped the bouillon, cream cheese, and sour cream and stuck with butter and milk. Basically, anything you can throw in a slow cooker on Thanksgiving and not worry about is a life saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These potatoes are amazing! I usually don't like to make mashed potatoes because it is difficult to keep them warm. Who wants cold potatoes? I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and not only were they delicious, but were kept piping hot. It was also great to make them ahead and put them in the crock pot in the morning. Thanks for this "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Just loved them, and so easy to make and then keep nice and warm until dinner is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wow! These were the star of the Thanksgiving meal! I have always added cream cheese and butter to mashed potatoes, so I didn't expect these would be much different. I was wrong. Boiling the potatoes with bouillon and garlic made a huge difference in the end product. As we cleaned up after the meal, most of the sides had 2/3 of the food remaining. These potatoes, on the other hand, were wiped out. One person even told me they were "the best food they had ever put in their mouth" and that they were going to ask for these for their birthday. You don't get better compliments than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 975) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States