Slow Cooker Maple Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Oh, boy. I was really surprised at how badly this turned out. I adore all of the ingredients and thought this sounded like a winner of a recipe, but when everything was combined, the 'warm' spices were simply overwhelming. I followed the recipe to the letter, even wondering if the 1/4 tsp. of each spice would be enough to taste... Taste it I COULD. Like pumpkin pie smeared on ribs! Thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I can't currently have tomatoes so I was really excited about this recipe but I really didn't care for the flavor. I used real maple syrup, marinated the meat and doubled the sauce as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Very good recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I am glad this has received great reviews, but when I got home tonight, mine was burnt to an unrecognizable point. Not enough liquid is my guess. The combo sounds good, but when I put something in the crock-pot, I want to be sure that it doesn't require constant supervision. I didn't feel this way (nor does the smell of my home attest to this conclusion). Sorry, but it didn't work for me. In fact, I set the crock-pot to cook at low temperature for only four hours and then it sat at a warming/sustaining temperature for another four; well within the 7-9 hours allotted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
We were not thrilled with this recipe, needs something to bring a bit of juice but then you would need to increase all the other ingredients as not to dilute spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Overall, a fairly good recipe. It was -15 degrees the day I had planned to grill our country style ribs, so I ended up making this recipe so I could stay inside (&warm!). The meat was so tender it fell off the bone, but I did add about 6 cloves of garlic to the crock pot during cooking to give it more flavor which worked well (if you like garlic...). I served them with a little Mr. Yoshida's teriaki sauce for dipping instead of the juice in the crock pot which was tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I thought this was a great dish, but I do believe the recipe needs to be altered. Two tablespoons of liquid did not seem nearly enough to cook something in the crockpot. I used 1/3 cup of both syrup (I also had the lite kind) and soy sauce I added a big squirt of honey and a few shakes of worcestershire sauce as well. I used 1 teaspoon of each of the spices, used onion powder and fresh garlic as that is what I had on hand. I was late starting this (about 1 pm) so I turned the crockpot on high. It's a good thing I was home because it only took about 3 1/2 hours to cook. I think 9 hours (even on low) would have been way too long, but I did use boneless country style ribs. Overall a delicious recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I followed recipe with one exception, I doubled the maple syrup because I only had lite. I was good, I did not add BBQ sauce but did thicken the sauce in slow cooker and poured over ribs. This was the first time I had ever made country style ribs and it was a sucess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I didn't love it, I didn't hate it. I thought it was pretty good, but I probably won't make it again. I'm looking for the perfect recipe for country ribs...still looking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Not bad at all. Considering how easy it is, we'll probably have it again. I made it exactly according to the recipe, except that I had accidentally used too many ribs so I poured an extra tbsp or two of soy sauce and syrup over the top before cooking. Not too exciting, maybe trying something a little spicy would be nice -- a little extra ginger? -- but not bad as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States