Slow Cooker Maple Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made these last night & woke up to the best smell this a.m. I didn't read any of the reviews beforehand. The combination of spices sounded good so I thought I'd try it. I had plenty of juice & the ribs fell off the bones. They are very, very good. Now that I have made them I read some of the suggestions. The only thing I would do differently, I think, is to double the syrup to give it a bit more of a sweet taste. I didn't have regular maple syrup - only lite. Other than that I think they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a very strange recipe to make. I followed it just like it said. It had such a sweet smell cooking that I never thought that it would end up tasting good, but it did. It wasn't what we were expecting but it is a nice change from everything being smothered in BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was delicious! The only change I made was Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. I used boneless pork ribs and I did it on High for three hours. I must admit that the others scared me so I added more syrup on the top. They even "browned" on the parts touching the crockpot. p.s. mine is the original old model crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I have lost my dry rub recipe and I'm trying to find a replacement. This sounded pretty good, but I think I'll go back to dry rubs. Too messy - although ribs are kinda supposed to be messy, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I liked it, my husbad did not. I think is is one of those recipes where you either love it or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I'd rate this at about 3.5 stars. Unlike others - I had no issue with not enough liquid and I trimmed the pork very well(but I did use 2T each syrup and soy sauce) - . I had enough liquid that I added a little cornstarch to make it a gravy and served it over rice. I'll absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I should have stopped cooking it at 5-6 hours, instead of the full time. It was tasty, but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Oh, boy. I was really surprised at how badly this turned out. I adore all of the ingredients and thought this sounded like a winner of a recipe, but when everything was combined, the 'warm' spices were simply overwhelming. I followed the recipe to the letter, even wondering if the 1/4 tsp. of each spice would be enough to taste... Taste it I COULD. Like pumpkin pie smeared on ribs! Thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I can't currently have tomatoes so I was really excited about this recipe but I really didn't care for the flavor. I used real maple syrup, marinated the meat and doubled the sauce as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States