Slow Cooker Maple Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I thought this was a great dish, but I do believe the recipe needs to be altered. Two tablespoons of liquid did not seem nearly enough to cook something in the crockpot. I used 1/3 cup of both syrup (I also had the lite kind) and soy sauce I added a big squirt of honey and a few shakes of worcestershire sauce as well. I used 1 teaspoon of each of the spices, used onion powder and fresh garlic as that is what I had on hand. I was late starting this (about 1 pm) so I turned the crockpot on high. It's a good thing I was home because it only took about 3 1/2 hours to cook. I think 9 hours (even on low) would have been way too long, but I did use boneless country style ribs. Overall a delicious recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
To those of you who find the sauce to thin, I have a tip for you when using your slow cookers! Place a 2 or 3 layers of paper towels over your slow cooker, then put the lid on. The paper towels will capture the moisture. I use this trick every time I make something that I don't want the sauce to get thin. Hope this helps! Many blessings to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haron Haven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I love this recipe. I have made it 4 to 5 times now, and have finally gotten it to the point where I think it is absolutely perfect. I use boneless ribs, which make less liquid in the slow cooker. I also double the maple syrup, since I use the sugar free type. I find that if I do it this way, when the time is up, I can pull the lid off of the slow cooker and the meat pulls apart beautifully. Also, if I want to switch it up a bit, adding a bottle of my favorite barbecue suace tastes great too. My fiancee loves this recipe and requests it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I made 2 pounds of Country Style pork ribs, doubled the soy sauce and maple syrup (to ensure those flavors wouldn’t be lost in the meat juices), lightly peppered the ribs instead of adding pepper to the sauce, and turned the ribs several times during cooking. The sauce turned out very thin, more like a marinade or broth than a clinging or spreadable sauce; but that was expected and the ribs were very tender and flavorful just from being cooked in it. My husband, who had never eaten ribs that weren’t slathered in BBQ sauce before, enjoyed these and I will be making this recipe again. What a perfect combination; the convenience of the slow cooker for me and a main dish that my family likes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I didn't have dried onion so I diced about half an onion and used that instead. The only other change I made was to add a little minced garlic. Very yummy. I scaled the recipe to 6 servings and was worried that there would not be enough liquid to cook the ribs in. The fat in the ribs rendered down and the ribs ended up all but covered in liquid. I cooked on low for about 6 hours and the ribs were falling apart when we went to eat. My family enjoyed it, a nice change from BBQ ribs. I don't understand the reviewers who added BBQ sauce. Why not just use a BBQ recipe to begin with? I thought there was lots of flavor in this recipe. For a better/stronger maple taste I would suggest using REAL maple syrup. I will use this recipe again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was delicious! However, I did make a few changes. I doubled the sauce, adding one extra tablespoon of maple syrup (since I didn't have real maple syrup as other posters suggested) - and I made the sauce the night before and refrigerated until ready to use the next morning. I used boneless pork ribs, and marinated 2 hours in before turning my crock pot on. The family loved - every bit was gone. I did heat up some Montgomery Inn barbecue sauce for dipping. Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I first tried this recipe a couple of months ago, wanting to experiment with something other than chicken or beef (my dad thinks these are the only meats there are). This recipe is one of my family's favorites now, even my dad's. It is extremely easy to put together, and always turns out spectacular! I've read that some of you reviewers don't care for the flavor or found it not flavorful enough--try scaling the recipe to the amount of meat you have (look at the pounds on the package). I make extra and freeze for later. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My husband & I love this recipe. I added 1/2 a bottle of barbecue sauce along with all the other ingredients & slow cooked it for the full 9 hours. Needless to say the meat fell right off the bone. Delicious! This recipe is going to be used very often in my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Increased the spices to 1 tsp and maple syrup and soy sauce to 1/3 cup (per other suggestions) and this was WONDERFUL Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This recipe worked great for me and the sauce was just thick enough to coat the ribs. My husband loved it . . .and he's really picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSPECKMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States