Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is good. I did add quartered red potatoes and carrots. We ate it over rice and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this recipe as is, with no changes, and my husband and I love it! Use this recipe all the time. Simple and tastes good, what more can you ask for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This was a quick to make dinner, and I was surprised it made as much gravy as it did with no added liquid. I added carrot and about a 1/4 of an onion I had so it wouldn't be wasted, otherwise I followed the recipe as posted above. I thought it was really pretty good, it wasn't 5 stars but with some added veggies and herbs. That could give it a nice boost and bring it to the next level. Another poster also mentioned adding mushroom and sour cream, I thought that sounded right on target for this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
love it! I only used 2lbs of meat and it still turned out great! I will be making this many more times in the future! You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
As a recipe on its own I'd give this a 2 star rating but as a base this is ok. I added half a bag of frozen mixed veggies, 2 cans of corn,2 cans of mushrooms,1 can of diced potatoes(all canned veggies as low or no sodium as I could get and well drained)I skipped the onion soup mix(don't like onion)I didn't have any cheese soup but I did have a can of chedder broccoli potato chicken soup so I threw that in instead. I only had beef round which worked nice but I think next time I'll use chuck roast. I also added a couple of tablespoons of Italian seasoning to the pot for flavor. When it was done I served it over mashed potatoes. The husband and I loved it, the kids poked it so more leftovers for me and the husband. I used as low sodium soups and veggies as I could after reading the reviews and with the lower sodium items it didn't taste too salty. I had to add veggies because a stew to me is not a stew without some vegetable in it! It turned out very thick and filling. I will be making this again especially during the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delhi, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good. Added potatoes and carrots to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
wasn't a huge fan, although my roommate loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is an easy to follow and make recipe, that was enjoyed by my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was fantastic for supper tonight----it's -25 with the windchill. This recipe is probably really good as is, but I never follow a recipe exactly. For one thing, I used venison---hey, deer season is practically a holiday in Wisconsin. Also, I used cream of celery. It was either that or cream of chicken; I was NOT about to go out in subzero weather for one lousy can of soup. I added a can of corn, potatoes, celery, carrots, some thyme, garlic (of course) a couple dashes of crushed red pepper, worcestershire, and some liquid smoke. Served with fresh baked bread it was enough for me, hubby and our 3 kids---we even had some left over. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mastark2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Douglas, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
WOW! Didnt know about this with the cheese soup...but this was AMAZING! I did add carrots, onions and celery to the gravy. My husband LOVED this and he usually isnt to keen on stews with just meat and veggies! Alot of flavor! Paired with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States