Slow Cooker Machaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Instead of throwing out all that liquid and paying for enchilada sauce you can use 3 cups of liquid and your own spices; salt, pepper, garlic, cumin and chili powder of your choice plus some diced onion and bell pepper add only a little more effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I agree with RBcook. Instead of adding water to the juices I used 3 8 oz cans of mexican tomato sauce, 4 chopped fresh jalapenos with seeds and 1 bunch fresh cilanto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is very good and easy. After the first cooking you get rid of all the fat so it's very lean in the end, unlike many shredded meat recipes. It's not very spicy and next time I think I will add 1-2 packages of taco seasoning with the enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Instead of the enchilada sauce, I added a can of tomatoes and green chilies and a small can of green chilies, plus a small diced onion. Very good and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
no liquid in crock pot with meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
You have to try this! I suggest adding the onions, garlic and cumin like the other reviews say. We didn't get to add cilantro but will for sure next time. I can't wait to make this for my hispanic inlaws! Talk about brownie points. HeHe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe, but I did make a few additions. I added two 15 oz.containers of fresh salsa, and half of a 16 oz. container of sliced jalapenos, along with a little of the liquid. I also dropped in some chopped onion and cilantro. Fast, easy and super delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Drain off any fat and add the cooking liquid back to the shredded meat. Then continue cooking until the juices are reduced…(very thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
After moderations, this recipe is great. First, I left out the pork and added adobo to the seasonings. After the alloted time in the crock pot, I drained meat then added one can of RED enchilada sauce plus 8 oz of beef broth. Turned pot up to high for 30 min. Last step was to add sliced carmelized onions and peppers and for another 15 min. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Amazing! Very tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States