Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
No fuss, that's the way I like it. Really minimum prep work. Place ingredients in crock pot, check on occasionally and it will get ready for you. I used fresh broccoli microwaved al-dente. My crock pot runs hot so at 2 hr 30 min the pasta was done. Let run on warm another 15 minutes. It will be a regular potluck dish I bring to church. Everyone loves macaroni and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
just an fyi for anyone who is going to be making this. I am the submitter ,and when I make it I do make it with penne pasta.something a little thicker than elbows.And that way it wont be as mushy.You also have to watch it according to how fast your crockpot cooks it.mine is done in 3 hours ,so 4 to 5 hours is a guide. And if using elbows it will be done sooner.just wanted to share some tips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I halved the recipe and it filled my small slow cooker which only cooks on high. After two hours of cooking and stirring, I noticed the whole grain penne that I used was getting done so I took the lid off and covered the top with more shredded cheese. Thirty minutes later it was done and ready to eat. I am happy with the end result and wanted to let people know that this does work. Just for my own tastes, I added a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce and about 1 T of dried minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have tried slow cooker mac and cheese only one other time in my life and it was horrible...this was the total opposite of that! The cooking times are off though...mine only took about 2-1/2hrs. to cook, so keep an eye on it and be sure to stir it every so often, as instructed. I halved the recipe, and used my 2qt. slow cooker, which was perfect. I used mostly Light Velveeta(R) w/ some shredded sharp cheddar added b/c I have bad luck w/ melting cheddar cheese, lol. This was perfectly thick and creamy. Oh, I don't know if this makes any difference, but I also used Barilla(R) Elbow Macaroni (the ones w/ the ridges), they worked out great in this! I can't wait to play around w/ the cheeses, spices and trying it w/o the broccoli too. Thanks for sharing this YUMMY, EASY recipe, Linda...it's a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Ok...I was very skeptical because of reviews, but very curious at the same time...I've been looking for a slow cooker mac and cheese that uses uncooked noodles so I just had to try it...so glad I did....I did make this way lower fat by using a whole wheat medium shell pasta which held together fine, fat free evaporated milk, skim milk, and low fat cheddar. I also used fresh chopped broccoli that cooked perfectly and still stayed very green. I threw this together at 4 in the afternoon, and on HIGH this was done by 7. So for me it was 3 hours on HIGH with stirring every 1/2 hour...which I honestly didnt see a problem with...I was home...no big deal to stir every once in a while. This recipe I would not make on a work day...for this reason. My family and I very much enjoyed this! Next time I think that I will incorporate some velveeta cheese for that smoother meltier cheese, the cheddar melted fine but with a bit more of a grainy consistency...all in all a really good mac and cheese and you will be surprised that all liquids do eventually disappear. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The pasta was a little mushy and I used fresh broccoli, I should have cooked the broccoli a little first so it was still a bit crisp. It's better than a lot of the other recipes I have tried though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I used ziti instead of elbows and did 2 cups American cheese and 2 cups cheddar for a smoother consistency, my family enjoyed it! Next time I will add cooked chicken for an easy chicken broccoli ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used 1/2 stick of melted butter to coat the macaroni, and a pint of half anf half. Also added cubed cheddar cheese. Cooked on HI for 2 1/2 hours. The skeptical hubby was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAVONNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Used Barilla elbows and no broccoli. I think I might use some velveeta with the chedder to make it smoother as the texture of the cheese was a little grainy but overall great easy recipe. Cooked it on low for 2 hours and then 1 hour on high. Made the pasta come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Please use fresh PEELED Broccoli !!!! Blanch them ! Peel them from from the flower top down !! No String's to spit out. Same as with Asper's !!!! Still enjoyed it very much !! Thank you for sharing !!! Tiggy1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States