Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Hi everyone! I just wanted to say that until I found another recipe on this site for Mac & Cheese that I like better, I had been making it pretty much like this recipe for many years. To make this recipe work well, use cooked macaroni instead of uncooked, and also use velveeta in the mix, then top with sharp chedder cheese and dot with butter. About three hours on low, and you have yourself a really good mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I have made this several times and modified it to how we like it. We leave the eggs out entirely, so it turns out creamy, not "set up" like custard. I used only 3 cups of cheese (it was PLENTY!), used skim milk and added garlic powder and green pepper hot sauce. Everyone at work loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbarker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luckey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe is getting a really bad rap! I've done it in the oven and I've done it in the slow cooker. Slow cooker is definitely better. I think for this recipe to be at its best, one needs to have one of those medium sized (3 quart?) crock pots. I have one of the 6 quart ones so I only let it cook for 2 hours. I did not add the eggs, I cut the cheese to three cups, I did not cook the macaroni first, and I used spicy paprika. My husband loved it, one half of my toddler twins loved it, my 4 year old woudln't eat it. I think it is a good side dish and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Excellent, easy recipe. I did not cook my macaroni before placing it in my slow cooker and it did great even though I had my doubts. I dislike it when people change a recipe completely and then rate it. I made this recipe exactly as written and I'm very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlbycindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I think this is getting a bad rap too -- but I made a lot of modifications as a result of reading the previous reviews. I used a 16 oz box of macaroni, one egg, maybe 2 1/2 - 3 cups of milk, 2 cups of shredded cheese and a sizeable chunk of velveeta. I really wanted this to work .. just because it has the potential to be so easy. I started cooking on low but realized I'd have to crank it up on high to be finished on time. You should definetly stir this while cooking ( I always stir my crock pot creations). If it starts getting "blobby" or burning -- turn down the heat and add more milk. My Easter crowd enjoyed the recipe -- even the teenagers ! Tastes good the next day. The only thing missing was the cruchy macaroni that is so tasty with the oven version !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was surprised by this recipe. I did change it a bit, due to the fact I didn't have any evaporated milk. I used 2 cans cheese soup, 2 cups milk, 2 eggs 4 cups cheese, 1 tbsp flour and the uncooked macaroni. I did stir everything half way thru, but left it alone after that. It was very tasty. Husband liked it better this way than the way I usually make mac and cheese. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
i make mac and cheese from scratch alot, but i've never made it this way, and i won't do it every again! i followed the directions to the letter, but the egg rose to the top and baked up like a custard. the cheese wasn't at all what i'd call creamy, rather it stayed in lumpy shreds, and the outsides was definitely getting crustier when i liked. it was also very very bland. a little paprika or mustard would be nice! but the basic cheese sauce just didn't work well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Katt
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I skipped the eggs because I didn't want a custardy mac & cheese. I added 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, used white pepper instead of black and sprinkled with paprika before serving. My 9 yr old daughter and I loved it...my blue box (read: fake) mac & cheese loving 7 yo son hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I only got a forkful of this because that's all that was left when I got to it but it tasted great to me, creamy and cheesy. I doubled the recipe for a picnic. I followed others suggestions and used whole milk in place of the evaporated plus the regular milk it called for. I also used 4 C. cheddar cheese and 4 cups of Velveeta. I only used 1 egg because I wanted it creamy. I also used white pepper and dry mustard and didn't precook the macaroni. I used my 6 quart round crockpot and set it on high for 3 hours. Half way through I stirred it (something I never did before). We need to remember that not all slow cookers or crock pots are created equal. Typically a slow cooker heats from the bottom up and a crock pot heats around the sides. Some crock pots are hotter than others when set on low or high. I got rave reviews from everyone that got some of this. I plan to make it again this week with a meatloaf. It's just so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I think many people who have made this have never had "baked" mac and cheese. No it is not "creamy", it is not supposed to be. It is a custard style mac and cheese. It is lumpy, cheesy a little greasy and deliscious.This is pretty much a standard recipe for it. My mom made this for fourty years except in the oven. I think the crock pot works better. Only change I would make is to use at least half sharp cheddar. I saw several people did not add the egg. To each their own but the eggs are esential or it becomes a totally diferent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States