Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It was good thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This worked well for me. I was skeptical since I have not done it without cooking the macaroni first. I did add melted butter to the recipe, about 2 T. I also just used whole milk, 3 C, rather than the milk and evaporated milk. My kids gobbled it up. I also like the eggs in the recipe, we don't mind that it is not a creamy mac and cheese. It's more of a sticky one. I accidentally left the crock pot on high and it cooked within 2 hours then started to burn. It did not curdle though, luckily someone was home to turn it to 'keep warm'. If you are used to Velveeta tasting mac n cheese you will think this recipe bland. We love the taste of it though, it is more like homemade. I like that this recipe does not require Velveeta or canned soup although I bet those are TASTY additions. We like to keep it without the additional processed foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved the idea of this recipe, but in actuality it isn't worth the ingredients. I make Macaroni and Cheese from scratch often (my boys have only had kraft maybe once when they visited their aunt) so I was expecting something resembling decently made macaroni and cheese. I followed the recipe as written, no additions or subtractions. I cooked it for five hours without opening as written, and the bottom was borderline burnt, it did turn out custard like (a very dry not tasty custard), the flavor was bland, the noodles were cooked evenly (without being precooked) which was a pleasant surprise as I was nervous about them not being cooked prior. It wasn't really cheesy (I'm not saying this because I expect veleveta)...Basically I have a house full of boys, and I cannot get anyone to eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good and so easy. I only added one egg. I cooked on high for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this last night and was really pleased with the results. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, 1/8 tsp of cayenne and a dash of nutmeg. I used my 6 quart crock pot so I started it on high for 30 mins and switched to low for 1 1/2 hours. I stirred it at 30 minutes and then at 1 hour. From that point I left it alone. I sprinkled the last cup of cheese on it about 20 minutes before serving. Both my Hubby and I really liked the taste and texture. It wasn't mushy at all and tasted like the macaroni and cheese we've eaten when traveling through the south. Very tasty and very easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candela59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My family loves this but we do add a pound of fried hotdog pieces and a half a teas. Paprika. Ocassionally we even add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Just made this tonight, did as some others did and doubled amount also gave it a stir a couple of times. It came out fantastic, even my honey liked it, bonus!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldslojoe909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for a New Year's Eve party and it turned out great! I love the idea of not pre-cooking the pasta first. Would have given it 5 stars, but I added all of the extra spices mentioned by others, and I made magic happen when I generously sprinkled what I thought was ground cumin and came to realize it was ground cinnamon instead. Extra spices, including red pepper flakes makes it quite tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorna129
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was actually good. I only used one egg and should have used two because it was drier than I wanted it to be. I will make this again for a quick meal. Thank you Shauna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed other suggestions and left out the egg and reduced the amount of cheese. I ended up with a mass of mushy pasta. And agree it was rather bland. It was OK...but I won't make it again. I would suggest using a very sharp cheddar cheese if you do try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States