Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Had a day dedicated to yard work and some time in the pool afterward, so I wanted a meal that could be prepared early in the day and good-to-go at dinner time (salmon patties, coleslaw, and mac & cheese). I think the key to success on this recipe is to not overcook it. I used 2% Kraft® sharp cheese, skim milk (plus evaporated) and followed the directions with the exception of the cooking time. I read the reviews, and many said it was done at 3 hr instead of 5 to 6, so I checked at 2 hr 45 minutes. At that point, it already was a little overdone, so in the future I'll turn off the heat at 2-1/2 hr. The center of the mac cheese may be a little soupy, but if you check around the edges, they're very brown, a bit dry, but the elbow macs are cooked. Once you give it a stir, it will be creamy (as long as you don't overcook it). I wouldn't say that I like this better than my homemade mac & cheese made with a cheese sauce and baked in the oven. But I will say that this was pretty darn good for basically mixing everything together (not even cooking the macaroni), pouring it into a crock pot, and letting it do its thing. For taste, I'd give this a 5, but the timing is so off, that I'm giving it a 4-star rating. Just start checking for doneness at about 2-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by PRECIOUSJEWEL
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Nothing like homemade Mac and cheese and I love the fact that it was so easy and I let the crockpot do it thing. I added an extra half cup of milk and cooked mine for 3 hours. The family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
The kids loved it just as it's written, the best I've found so far. I think we have finally found our go to mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatBoy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmount, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipie is very simple and easy to make. Like a few other people, I subbed the condensed milk. I added a reasonable amount of butter. It really came out quite rich, but definitely not as heavy as using condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurtis Smejkal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I added a 14oz package of frozen broccoli flowerets thawed into the Mac and cheese and milk mix. Cool for 4 hrs. DO NOT STIR DURING COOKING. Crusty sides and creamy center. This is the only recipie I've tried that is perfect in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I gave this recipe 4 stars but with a couple tweeks it is a 5 star recipe. I added a between 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of dry mustard, used freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese (don't used the preshredded from the bags. The preservative messes with the creamy melting of the cheese) and I added 4 cups of cheese but sprinkled another cup of cheese on top, plus sprinkled with paprika. If you like your mac and cheese creamy and custardy, leave out the eggs or use one instead of two. NOTE: This recipe with eggs will be fairly creamy after 3 hours of cooking but the longer it cooks the more custardy and egg-y it becomes. If you are not going to serve right away, I recommend turning to WARM or even off for a little while and then turning back up to WARM 30 minutes before serving. I made this for the Super Bowl and at the beginning of the game it was still creamy and slighly liquid but by the end of the game it had become mostly eggy and custardy but still tasty. It's just personal preference. I boiled the macaroni for half the time it calls for but will try not boiling at all as several reviewers did and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Was OK. A little sweet. Girls didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is definitely more like a baked mac than a creamy mac (unless you leave out the egg and sub milk for the evaporated milk). I added some seasonings and less cheese than called for. Mine was done quicker - but very tasty. Would be lovely with some breadcrumbs on top too. Good recipe - but not great without a little extra seasoning (dry mustard, seasoning salt and garlic powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Will definitely make again! Super delicious and I'm a macaroni and cheese guru. Definitely use the cooking spray! I would have had a horrible mess to clean up if I skipped that step. Oh and the 6 hours is really maximum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this exactly as written for a family Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it and said it tasted just like a baked macaroni pie, but without a "crust" on top. I did cook it on high for a few hours because I forgot to allow myself enough time, and it still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States