Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this exactly as written for a family Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it and said it tasted just like a baked macaroni pie, but without a "crust" on top. I did cook it on high for a few hours because I forgot to allow myself enough time, and it still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Cdn
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So glad there's no pre-cooking of the macaroni. For flavour, I added 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, 1/4 tsp turmeric, and a sprinkle of seasoning salt, and I added 1/2 cup of extra milk. When almost done, only 2.5 hours on medium high, I did sort of pull it away from the edge of the crock, with a spoon, and topped it with crumbled multigrain crackers which I patted into the cheese on top. It didn't stick to the sides at all with the oil sprayed before assembling. We both thought it was delicious! Reminded me of my mum's baked mac & cheese, and the eggs made it firm but it was still very cheesy. I will make a doubled crock of this for my next potluck, and I'm sure I'll be asked for the recipe. Comfort food doesn't get any easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! I didn't change any of the ingredients and doubled everything to fill my slow cooker to the top. Timing is everything with this and at the 3 hours mark it was PERFECT....very creamy. My biggest complaint was chasing my family out of the slow cooker with their spoons because they couldn't wait to try some of the dish. I will definitely make this recipe again (and again and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Omg this was a hit for Thanksgiving and I will use it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I agree this recipe is getting a bad rap. I think many of those rating it are not use to traditional baked macaroni and cheese. I'm not arrogant enough to make tons of changes to a recipe I haven't tried yet, so I made it verbatim and found it easy and quite delightful. My entire family loved it, and that's rare. It reminded me of my Grandmother's recipe which is much more complicated. Thank you for sharing! It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Made this according to the recipe except that I only used one egg, about 3 cups of sharp cheddar and about 1 1/2 cups of velveeta (our son tends to like that flavor), a few dashes of garlic salt, and a dash of ground mustard. Turned on high and in about 1 1/2 hrs. it was already bubbly and turning brown on the bottom. Switched to the warm setting until we were ready to eat. Definitely don't pre-cook the Mac as it would be mushy for sure! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Have made this many times now for a dish to pass on camping trips. Always a hit. I too leave out the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I love it! Who knew you could make mac and cheese in a slow cooker? I changed a few things due to stock on hand, and personal preferences. It still came out great. I used whole wheat rotini. We don't use milk, so I substituted with almond milk, and substituted evaporated milk with powdered buttermilk (I keep in fridge for recipes), then added 1/4 cup Parmesan. Omitted salt. Next time I will remember to add the mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have been making this since last year and my family loves it. I usually make one lb of macaroni and I add ham to make it a complete meal. I have tried it with one egg and two and I find it is good both ways. I usually have evaporated milk on hand so I have not tried it without it yet. I do increase the milk to 2 1/2 to 3 cups to accommodate for the extra macaroni. I use about 3 cups of cheese as well. Great basic recipe to tweak to your own taste. This is on my go to list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I use recipes as starting points and this one is great. I used one egg and only 3 cups of shredded cheddar. Combined that in the pre-sprayed crock with the uncooked macaroni and 1 lb. of cubed smoked ham, 1/2 cup minced onion and 1/2 cup minced green pepper and 1 T. Butter. Cooked on high for one hour then low for two hours. Perfect! I have an oval 6 quart slow cooker so times have been adjusted. Needed a main dish casserole. This shines! Very creamy and cheesy. Served with steamed fresh green beans and hoe cakes. Play with the recipe and make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Volo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States