Slow Cooker Lime Chicken with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Great flavor. Super easy to make. I used black rice. It tasted great with black rice but the black rice released its color and made the entire dish look like black beans-- not as pretty as what you probably get with white or brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
After reading all the comments I made the following changes when I made this the first time: instead of chicken broth I used chicken stock (store-bought), I cut up the chicken into cubes instead of using whole chicken parts, 2 tsp of store-bought minced garlic (equivalent to 4 cloves garlic), 1/4 tsp dried thyme, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/8 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground black pepper, 1/4 tsp sea salt, and 1/3 cup chopped onion. Towards the end I added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it up. Served it with brown rice in a bowl. Used a bowl because it was still soupy. I thought it was fair but my husband and son really liked it a lot and want it again in the future. With the changes it definitely had some kick to it. We live in Louisiana and eat food more seasoned and spicy than in other parts. It came out medium spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie Ann Laporta
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I think this is a great starting off recipe there's a few things I changed first of all I brown the chicken in the pan before I added it to the crock pot. since we are moving we don't have a lot of extra stuff and I substituted cilantro.. I also added broccoli you can never sneak in too many vegetables !! I followed the directions if I were to make it again I would change it by sautéing onions and adding them and then maybe garnishing it with avocado or maybe an avocado sauce because the dishes a little bland for my tasting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Ann Laporta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This is my go to dish now among many others, served over Rice and mixed veggies was absolute hit, my Wife really enjoyed this as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Poppie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orting, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Very bland as is, and really not amazing enough to tweak. This one won't be in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Kerwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Total disaster and the end result wasn't salvageable. It was all great going up until adding the rice. The chicken smelled awesome, looked moist and had I cooked the rice on the side I would have been in for a real treat. Once I added the rice, dinner turned into a mushy, unappealing, bland mess and the rice never really cooked even after being in there a REALLY long time and then Needless to say I was not able to serve it. Looks alone it was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Didn't love it, but the leftovers were great for tacos...just didn't have the kick or punch I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanza Cornett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meagan
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I made mine into tacos, chunked up the chicken the night before and let it sit in lime juice over night and they were amazing! picture posted in photos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
It smelled delicious but when I tasted it, there was NO flavour. And the rice was too soft and mushy. However, I will try it again but with the rice as a side dish and add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Klassen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This recipe was really easy to put together, but there was a flavor neither I nor my husband was all that thrilled about. I think for us there was too MUCH lime juice. I also tried to add regular brown rice from the beginning of the cook time. It came out too mushy, but I'm not holding that against this recipe as that was my mistake. I didn't have instant rice so I tried it to see if it would work. It was the flavor that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hattie Alexandropoulos Main

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States