Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Simple and tasted good. Used vegetable broth in place of the water. The second time we made this I bumped up the veggies, 3 carrots, 3 celery and 1 large yellow onion, chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Easy recipe but needed more seasonings. Next time will use a more spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This will be a great recipe for cooler weather. It is filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Needs low fat kielbasa or maybe turkey kielbasa but still a recipe worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Usually add some rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very yummy! I added onion and tomatoes with green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Made this today and it's very flavorful. I thought two lbs. of sausage a bit much, and just used one. So easy to put together...I actually, almost literally, threw it together right before I ran out the door for work this afternoon. Didn't have celery and no time to cut up carrot so it went without; I added a smidgen of celery seed and garlic powder. Will definitely make again! Thanks, sorsha24!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUG53

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
my wife adds a cinnamon stick to this. It's good any way you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Apparently nine hours on low is too long to cook this... I started it before I left for work and did not get home as early as I had hoped. It ended up pretty mushy; it kind of looked like refried beans to me. I browned the turkey sausage and added it with the tomatoes when I got home, then turned the crock pot to warm for the 20 minutes before we ate. To me a crock pot recipe is only beneficial when I can turn it on before I go to work and enjoy the meal when I get home. This recipe does not fit that description. I do like how healthy and economical it is, but I probably won't make it again. I will stick to the Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup from this site (which I HIGHLY recommend) to get my lentil fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I've never been able to get my lentils to soften. Finally read other sites that said hard water and acidity (i.e. tomoatoes) can affect the cooking. After 3 hrs & still crunchy lentils, I dissolved 1/2 tsp of baking soda in a bit of water & threw it in the pot. Then put it on low for another 30 mins. FINALLY! YUMMY, COOKED, SOFT LENTILS! But they cooked FAST in that extra 30 mins. Not sure what will happen if I put it in from the get-go though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States