Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I have made it twice exactly as recipe lists, except I toss in a ham hock instead of chopped ham. Who has time to measure 8 teaspoons of tomato sauce? I threw in the whole 8oz can. I think it might be a typo. This soup is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was absolutely delicious!! After my first bowl, I was eating spoonfuls from the crock pot. I used the whole can of tomato sauce, added a can of diced tomatoes, 1-2 cups of water (to fill up the crock pot), some salt, garlic powder and red pepper flakes. So much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I have made this three times now. It has gone over well with the whole family including a two and seven year old. I have always added in a ham bone. Cook the whole thing overnight and all day in a slow cooker on low, bumping up to high towards the end. I recommend doubling because you will want leftovers and it freezes well too. Cornbread is a good side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Just perfect for Boston winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This didn't work at all. Watery, overpowering tomato flavor, overcooked diced ham and undercooked lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe! In order to make it vegetarian-friendly, I replaced the ham for 2 cups of green peas. I also doubled the amount suggested of basil, thyme, and oregano, using 1 teaspoon, 1/2 teaspoon, and 1 teaspoon, respectively. Last but not least, I limited the cooking time to 10 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I loved this. It was great tasting and smelling it cook. I only cooked it 8 hours and it was finished without anything sticking to the crock pot which helped with clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Good soups..as all soups, better the second day! Hit the spot on this snowy March day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a great reciepe! Make it every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I very much enjoyed it. Thick, hearty and satisfying. I used 1.5 cups of lentils and substituted one can of diced tomatoes for the sauce. Omitted the celery and added more carrot. Also added 2 more cloves of garlic. It does take full 11 to cook. I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States