Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Okay...call it morbid curiosity, but I came across this recipe and just had to try it because of all the bad reviews. Is it really that bad?!?! Well, no. The ratio of water to lentil/rice is 2:1. After reading all of the reviews, clearly the amount of liquid is one issue, so I upped it to 3:1. It could have used more, but oh well. Also, reviewers complained about blandness. Well, this is a site where everyone tweaks things according to their own preferences (aside from those who substitute raspberries for jalapenos and salmon for beef and peas for potatoes, decide to cook it on a Coleman instead of the oven and then say it was terrible). So I added chopped sweet peppers, cumin, red pepper flakes and italian seasoning and used all chicken broth instead of water. Length of cooking time seems to also be an issue, so I only cooked it 4 hours on low which was enough. It turned out to be a fine lentil and rice dish. It is by no means soup, but it does taste good. Whether or not I will make it again, I do not know. It does make a good side dish or quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I followed suggestions of previous reviewers. I soaked the lentils for 14 hours. I used 1 cup of rice and 1 cup of lentils. I used 2 cups vegetable broth and 7 cups of water. I used about 3/4 tsp garlic powder. I cooked on high for 3.5 hours, added mushrooms and cooked for 30 minutes. The soup thickens a lot as it stands, too. This is a thick soup, but that is what makes it really good. It has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I prefer to soak the lentils in water overnight and set the crockpot on high for aobut half of the cook time. (We like them very soft.) Also, try part wild rice in this recipe--it adds lots of flavor!! Very hearty and makes a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Others complained about it being to dry and more of a lump than a soup---they were right. I added extra water and vegetable broth to try and make it more of a soup and soaked my lentils before cooking. None of this helped I ended up with a large gloppy lumps. At least I didnt waste to much money on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this recipe without looking at the reviews first. I was very surprised to come home and find all the water had been absorbed! I believe this recipe has a misprint; the dry lentils and rice should only be 1 cup each or maybe even 1/2 cup each. I used 2c lentil and only 1c rice, and there was no liquid left after 7 hours of cooking. I salvaged the soup by transferring it to a stock pot, added ~6 cups of chicken stock that I had been thawing anyway, plus more water til it was a soup consistency. I simmered it on the stove for another half hour to soften the lentils that didn't cook through, added a little Polish Sausage and it was pretty good soup, but I've got a gallon of it now! I actually will try this soup again, using a half cup each of lentils and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I make something very similar to this but I do find that I have to periodically add water. I use 1 cup lentils, and 1 cup brown rice and 4-6 cups water. It's also good with cumin, chili powder and garlic salt(to flavor) and used as a vegetarian burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Well...I also did not read the reviews before I made this "soup". I basically ended up with a gigantic pot full of some sort of pilaf even though I added 2 extra cups of water. Thankfully I was home to keep an eye on the crock pot otherwise I'm sure I would have ended up with lentil sludge as well. Make sure you Don't use instant wild rice for one thing. I agree that the amount of lentils and rice should be cut in half, and some spices need to be added. Definitely reduce the salt if you use less rice and lentils though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Something must be wrong with the ingredient measurements in this recipe. It calls for 7 hours of slow cooker time but by 3 hours it was a sodden dryed out mass of oatmeal like stuff. Maybe too little liquid for the amount of lentil/rice called for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I can't say anything that hasn't already been said about this recipe. It should be taken off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I had the same problem as another poster - by the time the mix was finished cooking, there was very little "soup" left to it, just a rice and lentil loaf with vegetables here and there. So I added as much broth as I needed to get it up to a soup consistency after it was done cooking and it was perfectly fine. Not the best lentil soup I've ever had, but quick, easy, cheap and filling. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States