Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
Super easy and tasty. My kids are not big fans of beans, but they gobbled it up without mentioning the lentils. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I prefer to soak the lentils in water overnight and set the crockpot on high for aobut half of the cook time. (We like them very soft.) Also, try part wild rice in this recipe--it adds lots of flavor!! Very hearty and makes a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Something must be wrong with the ingredient measurements in this recipe. It calls for 7 hours of slow cooker time but by 3 hours it was a sodden dryed out mass of oatmeal like stuff. Maybe too little liquid for the amount of lentil/rice called for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I had the same problem as another poster - by the time the mix was finished cooking, there was very little "soup" left to it, just a rice and lentil loaf with vegetables here and there. So I added as much broth as I needed to get it up to a soup consistency after it was done cooking and it was perfectly fine. Not the best lentil soup I've ever had, but quick, easy, cheap and filling. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Slightly thick but easy to correct . great flavour and good on a cold day .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
The first time I made this soup it turned into a big blob. I tried again with 1 c. lentils and 1 c. rice. I still didn't care for it. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wow this was very very very salty I didnt like it at all!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Others complained about it being to dry and more of a lump than a soup---they were right. I added extra water and vegetable broth to try and make it more of a soup and soaked my lentils before cooking. None of this helped I ended up with a large gloppy lumps. At least I didnt waste to much money on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This was nasty. It was a glob of goo with uncooked rice in the middle when I got home. I doctored it up by splitting it up into 2 crock pots and filled them with V-8 juice and keilbesa sausage. After another 3 hours the rice was finally done and at about 9pm that night it was finally edible. Of course by then I had quarts of the stuff. Most ended up not being eaten :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I checked the soup after 8 hrs. and lentils and rice were still hard. Cooked overnight but when I checked the soup in the morning, all the liquid was absorbed with a consistency of oatmeal. In order to not throw the whole batch away, I added salted water to it and it was edible. Had alot of flavor but would definately soak lentils for 12 hours before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States