Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I had printed out this recipe nearly 10 years ago - and since then, many reviews have come up saying that it's not soup at all, but more of a ... hash. It was a giant lump, is what it was. It tasted good, but fortunately I was home to add extra vegetable broth and water so it wasn't totally like a glued lump. I ended up scooping it into hollowed out green peppers and baking them in the oven like vegetarian stuffed peppers. That was tasty, but I certainly would cut the lentils and rice in the recipe in half and add more liquid if I were to do that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is not a "soup" but I wasn't looking for one and knew by the water ratio it wasn't going to be. I loved the flavor and will definately make this often. I used extra vegetables, and skipped the mushrooms as none were on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
As is, this recipe is worth about a star and a half. When I got home from work I had to really do some "tweaking" to get this to be edible. I took the advice of another reviewer and added cumin, red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning, and I increased the amount of salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also found (like every other reviewer)that WAAYYY more liquid is needed. I had used only half the amounts of lentils (which I soaked overnight) and half the rice, but the full amount of water and broth. When I got home I added an additional 3 cups chicken broth to the crock pot. With all my additions it does have a nice flavor. I might make it again, but only using my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I rather liked this, although it is more a stew than a soup. I read other reviews and so decided to keep an eye on it - I know, that defeats the purpose of using a slow cooker :) After 2 hours on "Low" there wasn't much happening. So I turned it to "High" for one hour and checked it again - almost done! One more hour on "Low" and it was good. I also used three vegetarian bouillon cubes and the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Way to much rice, recipe needs alot of help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was my first time making soup in a slow cooker. I followed the directions carefully, went off to bed, hoping to find my lunch ready. What a DISASTER! There was no liquid left in the pot and the beans were not cooked sufficiently. Needless to say, I will not be making that again. Also, I will read the reviews on all recipes before I try any new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I didn't have any rice so skipped it and used 7C water,1C broth. Used red lentils so only slow cooked for 4hrs then put on keep warm setting. Doctored it up with Onion Herb Mrs.Dash, red pepper flakes, and extra garlic. Never had lentils before so can't make a comparison but it was good and I'm picky so it's alright by me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The aroma and flavor were wonderful but the consistency was gummy. It would be better made on the stove than in a crock pot. I would also add more onion and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Sova Liebman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States