Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I agree with another poster, this was my lesson in "don't decide to try a new recipe without reading the reviews first." I followed directions and only after a couple hours this "soup" was an oatmeal dinner. It did give me and my husband a GOOD laugh, though! Needless to say, a frozen pizza made its way into the oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Doubled up on garlic, celery, carrots. Used a combo veggie broth and chicken in lieu of water. Also used diced tomatoes. This was a great recipe and my thought is you can't screw this up starting with the base recipe and doing what pleases you. THANK YOU for a great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As so many others stated, the liquid proportions are way off to call this a soup.(Perhaps a typo??) However, I am still giving it a four star rating, because the flavor is just what I was looking for. Having to add extra broth (which I chose over water) was no big deal. I would have liked more spices, but I was serving this to children and needed to keep it more bland. For those liking a spicier lentil soup, you will want to add a few of your favorite spices. I did not add mushrooms, once again, because I was serving this to children. I will definitely be making this again, just knowing I will add much more broth. Actually I think I will use one cup rice and one cup lentils and then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Was very good for the first night. After refrigerating over night it turned into mush. I would suggest to add more vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I cut the lentils and rice down to 1 cup each based on previous reviews. However, it was still too thick for a soup. I was disappointed in the taste of this recipe, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Used 12 cups of vegetable broth instead of 8 water/1 broth. I cooked it for 4 hours. Turned out thicker, like a stew, I love the combo of the lentils and the chewy rice. Very easy, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarianforllife
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
There must be a mistake in the ingredients. This was very dry and totally filled up the crock pot when it was finished - way MORE than 11 servings. If I make this again, I will cut the dry lentils and the brown rice down to 1 cup each. It is a good recipe for someone on a vegetarian diet and it was very easy to make. I may try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
hearty and interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Really quick to make, Really easy. You can't beat Easy Vegan that even my Meat-Eaten Family REALLY liked. Did add about 4 or 5 more cups of water and it only needed to be cooked on low for 4-5 hours. Stuck to the recipie except used short grain brown rice. Would have trippled the veggies, though. Next time I will add different veggies such as Bell Pepper, Califlower, leeks, and anything else I can find. Will Totally do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was not soup..it was a more a clump of rice and lentils. Due to the lack of liquid the lentils didn't cook completely. I also think it was pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States