Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I loved this recipe! The key is to cook on low or medium. The meat is incredibly moist and falls apart. I did take suggestions from others, just for my own likes, such as more garlic, no salt added because I used chicken broth. It's great over rice, and if you pull some of the chicken out of the broth it makes yummy chicken sandwiches the next day! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronteBlu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Commerce, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This makes a great Sunday after church dinner. Definitely thicken the sauce and serve over noodles. Kinda like a scampi if you use the wine like suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have the tendency to not follow the AMOUNT of the given ingredients and this recipe was no exception, but it turned out GREAT! With the dry ingredients, I kind of just dumped, tapped or sprinkled depending what I felt it needed. I also used 5 chicken breasts because of my family size, which is more than 2 pounds, so obviously I had to adjust the ingredients. For the one person that I saw that complained of it being dry, it's because they DIDN'T brown it first because apparently the don't know how to add extra butter. The browning it gives it a solid outside and seals in the moisture. I used EXTRA butter and it sealed in the moisture GREAT. This was moist, juicy and tasted FANTASTIC! This has been added to our favorite meals! I also used jarred garlic instead of cloves. Don't know if that made a difference but once again, it tasted FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very yummy. Doubled everything. Ended up adding about two cups of the water from the pasta I was making, just to have more sauce. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used dried. Fresh would have been much better though. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my entire family of 12. One said that it was so delicious that it tasted like a 5 star meal from a restaurant. Knowing my family, I tripled the recipe and used 3x the ingredients. I used 2 1/2 cups of homemade chix broth, added 3 bouillon cubes and added 3 cups water for the bouillon cubes. I used the broth to make rice as a side dish. I also used extra broth to make gravy. I will definitely use this recipe again! lovetocook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used all fresh ingredients with this recipe and enjoyed it very much. I was preparing it for some guest that arrived two hours later that expected and chicken was slightly over cooked due to this. I loved the combination of the flavors and don't understand why anyone would substitute. I will try again making sure it it only cooked the suggested amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Yummy with steamed rice and carrots.I didn't brown the chicken after reading a few reviews. I agree, don't brown and save yourself some time. Very tasty without browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Verty easy. Reminds me of Greek oregeno chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was just okay. Three hours was way too long and made the outside of the chicken dry and tough. I should have know better than try to cook chicken that long in a crock pot! As others suggested, I used more spices but only 3 Tbs of lemon juice. I used chicken broth in place of water for more flavor. That didn't help much. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe :). I too upped the liquid levels; with which I later added 1 1/2 tbsp xanthan gum to in order to thicken it up into a gravy-like mix. I added small whole potatoes, sliced carrots, & diced celery to the slowcooker pot as well. 2 1/2 hrs on high, and another hour on low = nicely cooked chicken that fell apart on my fork hehe. I wanna try this again with bone-in breasts & legs some time; or just a whole chicken. I added a photo compilation as well ;) *Tip: be mindful of the spices. I added a bit too much pepper since I thought it seemed 'light', WHOOO it left a 'hot' sensation on my tongue after eating haha. Not a big deal to be honest, just thought I'd mention to not over-add more spices/seasonings unless you want a stronger flavor from em. All in all, this is a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeerLuver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States