Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My 4 yr old said this was seriously delicious! The pickiest eater of the 5. Use whatever beans you like, substitute as it fits your taste, and this will be delicious regardless. Just don't forget to salt/season your chicken BEFORE you place it in the bottom of the crockpot!! Keep the seasonings and the chicken stock. Everything else can be substituted for something else and will still taste great. I didnt use fresh cilantro, used navy beans, no peppers and mild salsa. I didn't pan fry it first either (no need)...If I need a crockpot meal, then I definitely don't have time for that. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I never wanted to be one of those people who review a recipe by listing all the changes they made to it but...I didn't have any cilantro. Or cumin. And this recipe was still FANTASTIC! I have never made something so tasty from my crockpot. I don't know how anyone could say this was bland unless they have a medical condition they don't know about involving their tastebuds or they used very bad ingredients. I read a lot of the reviews and decided to take the suggestion of adding a can of corn instead of two beans, adding 1/2 c more broth, and a bay leaf. Other than that, as directed except for the cilantro and cumin issues I mentioned. I used Tajin instead of the cumin. I cooked 3 hours on high and the chicken was tender and falling apart. Served with a dollop of sour cream. My new comfort food. WE LOVED THIS RECIPE, THANK YOU! And thanks to all for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this and didn't have the same "wow" reactions as others. Mine turned out OK but it was bland. The only thing I did differently was substitute the hot salsa with medium salsa (since I don't like it very hot). I also made this in a 4 quart slow cooker and the ingredients barely fit. I may try and make this again by halfing the recipe to see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Fantastic! We love this dish and serve it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
A hit with the entire family. I did omit the red pepper since I'm the only one of us who likes it, but other than that followed the recipe. Made with white rice, and also had creamed corn and chips and salsa on the side. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Added a full cup of broth instead of just 1f2 cuz some reviews said dry. Also a whole jar of the salsa (16oz I believe) was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
A very good recipe that I followed almost exactly even using chicken thighs instead of breasts that I usually use. The recipe turned out very good and my only complaint is how many unusual things are required to make the recipe but it still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Family loved it, even very picky wife!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Our new favorite! I made a few revisions, doubling the salsa and chicken broth, as well as cutting the cumin called for in half and adding ground cinnamon in the same measurement as allspice. I didn't have any cilantro on hand, did add diced mangoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
The ingredients where great except the Hot Salsa, it is ruined the whole pot. It is so hot we cannot eat it, what a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States