Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I really think people should take note to the user who doubled her sauce. I only used 1 package (2lb) of boneless thighs (bone-in works fine though!) and 1.5 sweet potatoes, and the tops were burning and black beans dried out because it was not covered in liquid. So, I doubled the cumin, allspice, garlic, 1.5C salsa (light, med, hot doesn't matter), and 2/3C broth. Use a slotted spoon if you don't want soupy, but this really wasn't! Used box of uncle ben's chicken wild rice (with the seasoning) to serve on top of, and people go ga-ga over all the flavor. This definitely makes the house smell warm. We "HATE" sweet potatoes, so my husband cringed when I told him what this was made of, yet this is now both of our favorite meals. I'm so glad I trusted the reviews. Also added a can of corn, and glad I did as it was the perfect mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
we loved this!! i used a 3 lb pack of chicken thighs and drumsticks, skinned. i skipped the pan browning step. based on other reviews, i made the following changes: 1 can black beans instead of 2, 1 can of corn, 2 cups medium salsa, 5 garlic cloves, and 1 cup chicken broth, all other ingredients stayed the same. i cooked on low for over 6 hours and it was divine. made with puerto rican steamed rice but would also go well with brown rice or couscous as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Brilliant recipe. So flavorful. And let me add this serving idea: first time around we did the rice. SECOND time around I took the mix and stuffed it into hard taco shells with tomato, lettuce and sour cream. THAT is how this is supposed to be eaten. The corn flavor and the crunch took it to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treetopbirdy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is probably my favorite crockpot recipe ever. I used bone-in chicken thighs (skinned) and cooked it for 5 hours on high. I served it over cooked brown rice with fresh squeezed lime and chopped cilantro on top. Super easy and incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was delicious! Because I have a young child, I modified it slightly to minimize the heat spice of the salsa. Instead I doubled the chicken broth and combined it with 8 oz of organic tomato sauce. I also added half a chopped onion. I cooked it a bit longer than the recipe called for and it still turned out amazing. The chicken was so tender! I served it with whole wheat couscous, which was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this for supper tonight and even my picky husband loved it. I went by the reviews and added more liquid - 1-1/2 cups salsa and 2 cups chicken broth. Since we don't like dark meat, I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts. Another change was using a can of jalapinto beans instead of black beans since my husband doesn't care for black beans and I added a can of MexiCorn. When I stirred it after I got home from work, the chicken shredded itself so it was like a thick chicken stew. I served it over brown rice. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ridiculous good! i wasn't sure how i was going to like the sweet potatoes in this recipe but they were excellent in this dish. i doubled the liquid and added a can of corn to the recipe. the chicken was so moist and full of flavor. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caressa
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so yummy! I put everything in the slow cooker at once and cooked on low for 7 hrs. Chicken came out great. I also added some corn. I served over brown rice and next time I'll add a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Delicious, I added the corn, used vegetable broth instead, and used my own spices such as cumin, parsley, cardamom, tumeric, nutmeg, basil, red pepper flakes, and cinnamon, just a few shakes of each. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good recipe! I exchanged one can of corn for a can of beans, and I love it. Next time I make it i will add a few more seasonings, however as it is allows the eater to season it to thier taste. I also cooked it on high for 5 hours and the chicken was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulue_b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States