Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is one of the BEST recipes for any type of entertaining. A few things to consider: I chop up my chicken thighs into large chunks (which they don't specify) which helps it break down in slow cooker. I also add a bit more liquid than called for, depending on the chunkiness of the salsa - I added 1/4 cup more chicken broth and a 1/4 cup more salsa. 2 cans of beans is TOO much bean for me, so I subbed in a can of corn instead. **The key is: at the end, when it's cooked, take out about 1/2 cup of liquid from the crock pot and put into a bowl. Whisk in about 1 -2 TBSP of corn starch and pour back into the crock pot. Stir and cook on high for 15. This thickens it enough for putting into a tortilla (if you want!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I didn't have bell peppers or cilantro, but was still very tasty :) I also used reg. potatoes since we're not much of a sweet potato family. This one is a keeper....Thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondaruu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I didn't brown the chicken first (didnt really see the point). I kept all the ingredients as is except for used only 1 can of black beans (thats all I had) I made rice on the side and put everything on top. The presentations isn't very pretty, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I was looking for a healthy slow cooker recipe that did not have any type of cream of whatever soup in it. My revision is only good if you plan to shred the chicken breast. I made this with chicken breast for the sake of being healthy. I used 3 lbs of chicken which was about 6 large breasts. 6 is way too much if you are shredding them. I would only do 3-4 next timing. I did not brown them, just threw them in the bottom of the crock pot after rinsing them. I used a whole small jar of mild Newman's salsa which came out to 1.5 Cups. I did not want to open a new container of chicken broth so I used 1.5 cups of water. I did not have fresh cilantro so I used some dry and pre chopped garlic in the jar. I left out the oil. I cooked on low for about 6-7 hours. After that I pulled the chicken out and shredded it (about hald of it because after shredding 3 breasts I did not want the base to become dry). At this point the base of the sauce was really liquid, but once the shredded chicken is added it comes out perfect! The sweet potatoes were still semi firm and not mushy. This came out great! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I put it in my pressure cooker and it takes about 45 minutes if I brown the chicken prior to putting in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is my kids (11,15,18) absolute favorite crock pot meal! Even though one is normally suspicious of cilantro, the other doesn't normally eat sweet potatoes! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I've had better. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I wished I had used regular potatoes instead of the sweet ones. We didn'tlike the combination at all. Only the chicken tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Normi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was surprisingly very good. It had a lot of flavor and I like the sweet potatoes. we didn't have all spice so we looked up what was in it and made some. It was a little spicy next time I might use med salsa instead of hot. But then again it was a good hot and I was able to stand it and it didn't overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was fantastic! I used medium salsa instead of hot (as I don't like too much spice). I also added the corn as others did. My husband told me to add this to the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States