Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I used medium salsa and I should have followed the instructions and used hot salsa. To make up for the lack of spice, I added some chili powder. It turned out great! Goes well with brown rice. Next time I think we will try adding some corn. I also browned the chicken and then slow cooked it on the stove because I only had 2 hours until dinner time. We will be adding this to our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
So easy! We have been making this a lot lately. I don't brown the chicken first, it saves tons of time for someone like me :) I add chili powder, garlic powder,and also add frozen corn at the end. I have used it to make tacos, eaten it over rice, and made "enchilada lasagna" with it. It has been added to our staple list of go-to crock pot dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My family and I really enjoyed this dish. It was hearty,comforting and delicious! The potatoes didn't have that "yammy"flavor, instead they gave the dish a perfect natural sweetness. I used 505 Salsa (made in New Mexico), extra homemade black beans, three large sweet potatoes, a red bell pepper chopped instead of sliced, 2-3 cups water with chicken flavored "Better than Bullion" and the rest of the spices suggested. I made sure everything was covered in liquid so that it didn't dry out like others had experienced. The flavors reminded my husband and I of chipotle or Café Rio. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I thought this dish was very good. I used all the ingredients and added spinach in case I could get my 20 month old to eat it too. She did! I also didn't brown the meat first because It has never made a difference in the past. Lastly, I used more broth because I wanted the liquid to be at a certain point for my liking. Warning...this is NOT a "latin" type dish that you go get at the nearest El Tipico restaurant. It doesn't taste like your everyday Dominican, Puerto Rican, Mexican etc food in which I feel like many people who didn't like the dish expected. It's a dish where you can taste the individual flavors of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
this was very good. didn't have the cilantro, and cut the beans back to 1 can. thanks for the post UpstateNY Cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I liked it very much. Definitely will make it again. My husband took it for lunch the following day, which meant he liked it too! I had to compromise a few of the ingredients. next time I make this, I will be sure to have what I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Heather de Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This dish was amazing! I must say I was nervous about combining sweet potatoes with salsa and black beans. It most definitely tasted like a Caribbean dish. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
lOVE this. ok we used trader joe cowboy bean and corn salsa and it was HOT! Bobby wanted it milder:) I think recipe is good or bad depending on salsa - so I must experiment to find the right salsa for this. This is one chicken dinner I actually LOVE! MUST cook with rice! I love Bobby:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made quite a few changes, but it was excellent regardless. I used chicken breast, and also skipped the sauté step. I used dried cilantro; skipped the salsa and mixed in a packet of taco seasoning with the chicken broth. I added frozen corn. Because of the taco seasoning, I didn't add the cumin or allspice. I just added in fresh minced garlic. Only used one can of beans. Will make many more times with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Interesting and very tasty. Layered dry black lentils on top of chicken and they cooked perfectly! Used pumpkin pie spice and cumin cuz that's what I had. Doubled the broth and salsa. Hand shredded chicken once cooked, did not brown first, used a 3lb pack mixed bone in. Came out as a delicious stoup I will make again and again! (Skipped the rice, hearty as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States