Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Good flavour, but a little bland. Needs hot salsa and a fair amount of salt and spice to perk it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is an inexpensive meal that uses ingredients you probably already have on hand. Neither myself nor my husband were blown away by it, but it was a nice, hot, satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yum! A definite keeper. I did as others suggested by doubling the broth and the salsa and halving the black beans. I used half hot salsa and half medium and the spiciness was fantastic. We just ate this as a stew... what a good meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I thought this was terrific. I did add more liquid and spices, which I thought was a wise choice since I was using boneless chicken breast (though I should've salted the pot more after adding the extra liquid). I omitted the cilantro (can't stand the stuff) and used fava beans, as the store had no black beans, but I don't think the different beans changed the flavor or the texture. I shredded the chicken and put it all inside tortillas with brown rice. Yummy! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcupocoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is one of the BEST recipes for any type of entertaining. A few things to consider: I chop up my chicken thighs into large chunks (which they don't specify) which helps it break down in slow cooker. I also add a bit more liquid than called for, depending on the chunkiness of the salsa - I added 1/4 cup more chicken broth and a 1/4 cup more salsa. 2 cans of beans is TOO much bean for me, so I subbed in a can of corn instead. **The key is: at the end, when it's cooked, take out about 1/2 cup of liquid from the crock pot and put into a bowl. Whisk in about 1 -2 TBSP of corn starch and pour back into the crock pot. Stir and cook on high for 15. This thickens it enough for putting into a tortilla (if you want!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I didn't have bell peppers or cilantro, but was still very tasty :) I also used reg. potatoes since we're not much of a sweet potato family. This one is a keeper....Thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondaruu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I didn't brown the chicken first (didnt really see the point). I kept all the ingredients as is except for used only 1 can of black beans (thats all I had) I made rice on the side and put everything on top. The presentations isn't very pretty, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I was looking for a healthy slow cooker recipe that did not have any type of cream of whatever soup in it. My revision is only good if you plan to shred the chicken breast. I made this with chicken breast for the sake of being healthy. I used 3 lbs of chicken which was about 6 large breasts. 6 is way too much if you are shredding them. I would only do 3-4 next timing. I did not brown them, just threw them in the bottom of the crock pot after rinsing them. I used a whole small jar of mild Newman's salsa which came out to 1.5 Cups. I did not want to open a new container of chicken broth so I used 1.5 cups of water. I did not have fresh cilantro so I used some dry and pre chopped garlic in the jar. I left out the oil. I cooked on low for about 6-7 hours. After that I pulled the chicken out and shredded it (about hald of it because after shredding 3 breasts I did not want the base to become dry). At this point the base of the sauce was really liquid, but once the shredded chicken is added it comes out perfect! The sweet potatoes were still semi firm and not mushy. This came out great! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I put it in my pressure cooker and it takes about 45 minutes if I brown the chicken prior to putting in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is my kids (11,15,18) absolute favorite crock pot meal! Even though one is normally suspicious of cilantro, the other doesn't normally eat sweet potatoes! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States