Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
The boy called it bland. Plus, it took way longer in the slow cooker than the recipe states, and that was on the 'high' setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
A delicious way to prepare chicken, and so easy! I opted for a cut-up chicken using all parts, removing the skin. I saw no need to brown the skinless chicken, and took other suggestions of replacing one can of the black beans with corn, which was the only other alteration I made. Served on a bed of yellow Spanish rice, this received raves from Hubs. The chicken was succulent and tender. The bonus with this recipe is you put it all in the slow cooker and forget about it! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Amazing! Even the leftovers were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen McCullough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was just ok to me, followed recipe exactly, but will not be making this again. thx for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
YUM! Tried this today. OMG! It's actually still on, but it's been 4 hours & chicken is super tender. These are the changes I made: b/c I didn't have chicken broth today, I put I tablespoon of cream of chicken soup & poured a little broth from some canned chicken soup; seems weird, but worked great! I also added a little water. Made it too soupy, so I added a little flour, now it's perfect! I also used jake peon peppers with orange, red, and yellow. I also added onions. I was missing cilantro, but the cumin is wonderful. Also, I used fresh garlic along with garlic powder & seasoned salt w/pepper when I seasoned my meat. I also skipped the browning step. Finally, I added some brown sugar. When I say delicious.....I mean it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Mel Laster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Chicken fell apart so there were bones in the sauce, tasted like chili, not special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
It was tasty, but the potatoes weren't quite finished. I guess I needed much smaller "chunks" than I cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
In a word, AWESOME! I used medium salsa and red beans. I also doubled the amount of salsa and used 4 chicken leg quarters, red beans instead of black, additional chicken broth and cooked it several hours longer than the 4 listed. I also left the skin on the chicken which I prefer. Next time I may reduce the broth because there was a lot of liquid left over but it was amazing! So good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I really liked this dish but my family wasn't as thrilled. Partly because I cooked it for 6 hours on low and it turned out quite mushy. I was a little nervous about doing 4 hrs on low b/c my slow cooker says to cook things on low for 8-10 hrs. So, I went with 6 and it was too long. Only thing I did different was use one can of corn in place of one of the cans of black beans. My salsa was mild too. I used boneless skinless thighs (which were a little more difficult to find in the store) but it was really good verses using chicken breast. Next time I would dice the red pepper instead of slice it. I was also a little generous on my broth and salsa measuring to be sure it didn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Too many ingredients to be so lacking in flavor. I followed the directions to the T and like previous reviewers, added a bit more broth to the crockpot. It was really bland and required so many prep work that it spoiled the ease of crockpot cooking. Won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States