Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe turned out really great...only gave it 4 stars because I modified per the other reviews. I used about 1.5 cups of chicken stock and a little more than a cup of salsa. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used one can of black beans and 1 can of corn. I also used 1 sweet potato and several yellow potatoes. I did not have enough salsa, so I used 1 can of Rotel and 1/3 cup salsa. It was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENEESSELAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I used frozen chicken tenderloins since they were on sale BOGO and added corn as some other reviewers suggested. I also added a 1/2 cup extra of broth as others were commenting on not enough liquid. I ended up with too much...maybe because I put the chicken in frozen? If I make this again I will not add extra. I will wait until the closer to the end to add the cilantro or at least part of it so it is not so soggy and has a bit more intense flavor. I put this in the slow cooker for about 4 hours on high. All in all it tasted good and looked great...wasn't a family favorite though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great slow-cooker recipe! At first I was nervous about the sweet potatoes because they are not a favorite of my husbands but he loved this recipe. I doubled the sauce and added 1/4 cup of yellow onions. It was delicious and even better the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Same as a lot of people, husband hates sweet potatoes but loved this. I served this to some people and they thought it was fancy! Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made it to the tee. However, realized the beans were not covered in the broth and were drying out (as other's had warned). So, I doubled the broth mixture. The recipe was good but not great. I served with corn tortillas as well as just over rice. Good for feeding a crowd-- made a ton, but not great. However, one of my guest adored it and took all the leftovers home. I was just hoping for the flavors to pop more, especially since lime juice usually does the trick and didn't in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I really liked it, but my boyfriend who isn't a huge fan of black beans, sweet potatoes or cilantro didn't like it at all. I also did one can black beans and one of corn. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Added more garlic, 2 cups salsa, 2 cup broth, can of corn, only 1 can of beans...frozen chicken breasts at the bottom...perfect with a little sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
As written the dish makes the 3 star list for me. While I thought the dish was very good and tasty (I will make it again) I hate it when I have to read through the reviews to find out you need more liquid in the dish, particularly on a dish that has 248 reviews with a 4.5 rating. If you have to make changes to a dish, rate it a bit lower, I think. Anyway, I doubled the sauce, because it wasn't enough liquid to even cover the potatoes. I did double all the sauce ingredients, including the salsa, next time, I will use a med. salsa, to tone down the heat. Otherwise, I wouldn't change anything else. BTW, cooked on top of stove, in dutch oven for about 1.5 hours on low. I have also saved this recipe and will make it again with the additional sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States