Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I loved the end result of this recipe. Before beginning, I read a lot of the reviews and made a few substitutions. To make sure the dish did not dry out, at another reviewer's suggestion, I added probably 3/4 cup of water, a little over the noodles, and over the meat mixture, wherever I felt it was too thick. I used regular, not pre-cooked noodles. I also added a full large container of ricotta cheese, 1 egg, and a 32 oz. container of 4-cheese spaghetti sauce, no tomato sauce, but all other ingredients as in original recipe. This was the best lasagna I've ever made and I'll definitely make it again. It was creamy, the noodles weren't gummy, and the sauce was great. I think other additions could be made, such as mushrooms, green peppers, perhaps shellfish. I think the first time you make this, you should stay close to home so you know how fast it's going to cook. I was expecting mine to take 4 to 6 hours, but it was done in 3, with a couple of dark brown spots in 2 places. My slow cooker is older and its 'low' setting is probably slower than newer models.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe. Substitutes are easy to incorporate without ruining the goodness of the outcome. Thanks Kimirn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Patterson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I really liked this and is now in my permanent recipe book. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Jarrod LOVED this!!! used 1 lb of beef and no boil lasagna noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Make sure sauce is last layer on top to keep the noodles moist. I just had cheese on top of the last layer of noodles and they end up hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
At first, I was disappointed. Before refrigerating, the lasagna tasted overcooked and impossibly salty. However, after standing in the fridge for a couple of hours, it really improved; the saltiness became tolerable and the flavors started to shine through. Now after two days in the fridge it's even better, but it's not amazing. It's overcooked--the ricotta and other cheeses are too rubbery but the flavors are all there, at least and it does taste pretty good. I cooked it for 4 hrs on low. Then it was kept warm for about 5 hours while I wasn't home. Wondering if that caused it to be overcooked or if 4 hours on low is too much. It was burned around the edges pretty significantly, and I'm thinking the keep-warm feature couldn't have caused that. Next time, I'll try to check on it periodically. One very good thing though is that the noodles turned out at perfect consistency. You *do not* have to use no-boil noodles. I used regular, whole wheat noodles and they came out perfectly. As others have noted, forego adding any salt. I think it's the can of tomato paste that risks making this lasagna way too salty. I didn't add any salt--and in fact I made my own tomato sauce from scratch and didn't add any salt to it, but I think it's the tomato paste that really did it with the salti-ness. Overall, because it's so much easier to make than oven lasagna, I would make this again. 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was awesome. I cooked it exactly as given and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've used this recipe as a guideline many time... but just as a guideline. I add a lot of veggies and herbs and of course, a couple bratwurst. I cook this at least once a month for my coworkers on Saturdays and even folks who aren't on the schedule show up to get them a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeremiahwilliamjohnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Cooked this tonight for supper. Followed the directions to a T. After 4 hours the sides were overcooked but the noodles were undercooked. Could not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
a mushy mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States