Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this recipe tonight and my family really liked it. I cannot say that there is a big difference between the oven lasagna I make and the one in the slow cooker because it was very similar. As far as convenience I feel that if you want to prep the recipe in the morning and not have to worry about it then it will be worth the effort, otherwise you can just use the traditional oven method since the result will be similar. Some changes I made to the recipe were I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also added two eggs to the cheese mixture. I also substituted the sauce with traditional marina sauce and seasoned the meat with salt, pepper, oregano, minced garlic and onion. Finally I added mozzarella cheese to the top of the lasagna the last 30 minutes in the slow cooker. Totally cook time was 5 hours on low. Make sure you break the noodles to fit in the slow cooker and you double the noodles each layer and they are covered entirely so they will cook well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
loved it. followed recipe exactly. wont add salt at all next time. recipe can be improved a bit check out other review advice cos each crock pot probably varies on size and temp. but overall great easy delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very good but I definitely would add two layers of bake ready noodles instead of just one...i did add some water overtop of the lasagna it made a nice sauce for bread I also added some Italian seasons to my meat...very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I just made this and it was really delicious. Two things i would advise though....I used the regular lasagna noodles. Do not boil them though, use them uncooked and they will cook through the liquids that they are sitting in. Also, after placing everything in the crockpot, pour about a 1/2 - 1 cup water on top. I also added some extra shredded mozzarella on top about 20 minutes before it was done, just to make it a bit more cheesy. I will definitely make it again. One big thing i did find was it wasn't as messy to prepare, so that is a bonus in my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This actually turned out pretty delish! I added parsley,black pepper,crushed red pepper, oregano, and basil to my meat and chopped up some hot sausage and added that also. I used an extra can of sauce a 12oz I believe. I couldn't find oven ready no boil noodles but cooked this on high for 1 hour and low for 2 and a half and it turned out beautifully will def make again on a cold winter night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this with the suggested alterations. Mine cooked in 3 hours. The biggest problem was how to get it out of the crock pot with all of the layers! LOL It turned out to be one big goopy mess, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good, wonderful base recipe for the slow cooker. Made it twice, once the original recipe and found it a bit bland. So I made it again for a dinner party. Assembled it the night before, I have a large slow cooker and this recipe doubled well. cooked on low for about 3 hours and hight for 2 more when I started out cold out of the fridge. I have to say it really depends on you slow cooker size and model. I used ricotta mixed with egg instead of cottage cheese and added a good amount of Italian seasoning to kick it up a bit on flavour. I did not cook the noodles and every thing was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I prefer to use only jarred pasta sauce with mine instead of tomato paste and jarred sauce, so the recipe as written is only 3 stars. Here's a tip for oddly shaped crock pots. Soak your lasagna noodles in hot tap water for 2 minutes, drain and use immediately (or they will stick together). This makes them more pliable and easier to fit the exact shape of your crockpot. I find breaking them sometimes breaks the whole noodle into shards and that's no fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
THE BEST! Don't worry about those uncooked noodles...they will cook to perfection. I have the 6qt. oval pot and it cooked in less than 4 hours. PICTURE PERFECT LASAGNA!! I will never go back to the oven...EVER. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe was the best lasagna I have ever had! I did substitute ricotta for the cottage cheese and I added in mushrooms and spinach. It was delicious. I cooked it on high and it was finished in under two hours with the oven ready lasagna noodles. I will be adding this to our weekly dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States